GIG GUIDE - Event Details

Aroha Ensemble Plays Masterworks For String Trio

Thu Jun 8th, 2017


New Plymouth, Taranaki

Doors open: 7:00pm
Gig starts: 7:30pm
Entry: All Ages

Cover charge: $25

Three members of the Aroha Quartet (Haihong Liu - violin, Zhongxian Jin - viola & Robert Ibell - cello) perform rarely heard masterworks for string trio under the name Aroha Ensemble. Mozart's Divertimento for String Trio, written in the same year as his last three symphonies, has been described as one of his noblest works. Beethoven's Opus 9 String Trios were a significant milestone in his development as a composer. His G major trio is rich, energetic, and almost symphonic. The fascinating third work in the programme is a movement from an unfinished trio from Sibelius's mature chamber music period.

Beethoven - String Trio No 3 in G major Op. 9 No 1
Penderecki - String Trio
Mozart - Divertimento for String Trio in E-flat major K563

tags: classical
Related Gigs

Aroha Ensemble Plays Masterworks For String Trio

Sun 7th May, The Mt Eden Village Centre, Auckland

Aroha Ensemble Plays Masterworks For String Trio

Wed 7th June, Caccia Birch House, Palmerston North

Gig Reminders

Get this weeks gigs emailed to you?  
Popular Gigs

Tickets in Taranaki

Jordan Luck Band - Who Loves Who Tour 2017
—More tickets in Taranaki

Gig Guide Quick Links