MUSIC NEWS
Kitchen's Floor Announce New Zealand Tour

Kitchen's Floor Announce New Zealand Tour

Tuesday 21st June, 2016 1:24PM

A healthy string of New Zealand tour dates has been announced by Brisbane outfit Kitchen's Floor. The unhinged Aussie trio are going trans-Tasman off the back of releasing their third studio album Battle Of Brisbane, which came out via Chicago-formed label Hozac and has been referred to as "10 tracks of uncompromisingly nihilistic outsider RnR". Here are the tour details...
 

Kitchen's Floor New Zealand Tour

Thursday 28th July, Kings Arms Sports Bar, Auckland
Friday 29th July, Nivara Lounge, Hamilton w/ Girls Pissing On Girls Pissing
Saturday 30th July, Venue TBA, Palmerston North w/ Girls Pissing On Girls Pissing
Sunday 31st July, Moon, Wellington
Wednesday 3rd August, East Street Cafe, Nelson
Thursday 4th August, Log Recording, Christchurch w/ Girls Pissing On Girls Pissing
Friday 5th August, NONE, Dunedin w/ Girls Pissing On Girls Pissing
Sunday 7th August, House Show, Oamaru
Tuesday 9th August, Barrytown, Barrytown Hall
Wednesday 10th August, San Fran, Wellington
Thursday 11th August, Lucky Base, Whanganui w/ Girls Pissing On Girls Pissing
Friday 12th August, The Bach, Tauranga w/ Girls Pissing On Girls Pissing
Saturday 13th August, Wine Cellar, Auckland w/ Girls Pissing On Girls Pissing
Sunday 14th August, Audio Foundation, Auckland

Tickets to most shows available HERE at UTR


Here's the video for 'Resident Dregs'...


And cop the clip for 'Left'...


PRESS RELEASE:

melted ice cream presents:
KITCHEN'S FLOOR NZ TOUR
with GPOGP

Besides the tourists, the heat, and the concrete, Brisbane hosts the sort of inner city squalor that Kitchen's Floor came out of in 2007. It sounded like it: Matt Kennedy's idiosyncratic lo-fi, a scruffy example of nihilism and dread, had a refreshing appeal to a music world too lacking in starkness, and because of their success, this "uniquely fucked oddity" helped bring a resurgence of international interest in Australian underground music. Without Kitchen's Floor, Brisbane's too-often overlooked DIY scene would have continued off the radar all the more.

Now's a good time to check out their back catalogue: The band has to date released 3 full length studio albums (Loneliness Is A Dirty Mattress, Look Forward To Nothing, Battle Of Brisbane) as well as a bunch of EP's and live albums, some released through some of the most respected independent record labels in the world such as Siltbreeze, Negative Guest List, and HoZac.

Kitchen's Floor has toured extensively throughout Australia, Europe and the United States, but surprisingly has never toured to New Zealand until now. To make up for it, here's 14 dates in 11 cities. This tour's lineup will feature Glen Schenau (Per Purpose, Cured Pink) on bass and Liam Kenny (Bitch Prefect, The Friendsters) on drums, and in the spirit of bolstering disheveled outsiderism, Auckland's Girls Pissing On Girls Pissing will be joining them for a good chunk of the tour.





your comments
related gigs
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Thu 28th Jul, Kings Arms Front Bar, Auckland
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Fri 29th Jul, Nivara Lounge, Hamilton
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Sun 31st Jul, MOON, Wellington
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Wed 3rd Aug, East Street Cafe, Nelson
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Thu 4th Aug, Log Recordings, Christchurch
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Fri 5th Aug, None Gallery, Dunedin
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Tue 9th Aug, Barrytown Hall, Barrytown
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Wed 10th Aug, San Fran, Wellington
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Thu 11th Aug, Lucky Base, Whanganui
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Fri 12th Aug, The Bach, Tauranga
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Sat 13th Aug, The Wine Cellar, Auckland
Kitchens Floor NZ Tour
Sun 14th Aug, Audio Foundation, Auckland






Subscribe
Popular