click here for more
The Naked and Famous Win 2010 APRA Silver Scroll Award

The Naked and Famous Win 2010 APRA Silver Scroll Award

Thursday 9th September, 2010 10:08AM

The Naked and Famous have won this years APRA Silver Scroll award for song writing for their track "Young Blood".  The prize was awarded last night at a ceremony in Auckland. They were up against The Mint Chicks ("Say Goodbye"), Julia Deans ("A New Dialogue"), Anika Moa ("Running Through The Fire") and Artisan Guns ( "Autumn").

As is the tradition at the Silver Scrolls awards night, each nominated song is covered by another NZ artist. The NZ Herald have posted videos of each performance online - follow the links below to watch:

"Young Blood" performed by Three Houses Down
"Autumn" performed by Street Chant
"Say Goodbye" performed by Jared, Flick & Caoimhe
"Running Through The Fire" performed by The Datsuns
"A New Dialogue performed by The Unfaithful Ways


The APRA Silver Scroll Award, New Zealand’s most prestigious song writing award has been presented for the 45th time tonight at a star studded event at Auckland’s Town Hall.

The winner of the Silver Scroll Award for 2010 is: Alisa Xayalith, Thom Powers & Aaron Short - The Naked & Famous “Young Blood”.

“Young Blood is outstanding; it’s stroppy, it’s youthful and energetic. It makes me want to be eighteen again” says APRA’s Anthony Healey “It seems like the perfectly written song for this very point in time. It should take the world by storm” he says.

APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) is the organisation that represents all New Zealand music writers. The Silver Scroll Award is the pre-eminent peer voted prize for any music writer making music today. Previous winners have included writers as diverse as James Milne and Luke Buda, Neil Finn, Dave Dobbyn, Scribe and Chris Knox.

APRA is also proud to announce the following Awards presented at the Auckland Town Hall tonight:

APRA Maioha Award - celebrating contemporary Maori music: Jamie Greenslade aka maitreya “Sin City (feat. Awa)”.

SOUNZ Contemporary Award - recognising creative excellence by a contemporary composer: Chris Cree Brown “Inner Bellow”.

“Tonight we celebrate music-writers of all genres, toiling away in studios and bedrooms throughout the country. They are slaves to their craft. Tonight’s winners have given us music to treasure and we applaud them” says APRA’s Anthony Healey.

Inducted in the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame were: The Fourmyula - Wayne Mason, Carl Evenson, Martin Hope, Alistair Richardson & Chris Parry.

Most Performed Work in New Zealand (most played on radio and television in New Zealand): “Cruel” by Dane Rumble, Te Awanui Reeder & Samuel King.

Most Performed Work Overseas (most played on radio and television overseas): “Don’t Dream it’s Over” by Neil Finn.

2010 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Auckland Town Hall – Wednesday 8 September

Share this

Thu 30th Sep
Urban Factory, Dunedin
Fri 1st Oct
The Bedford, Christchurch
Sat 2nd Oct
The San Francisco Bath House, Wellington
Sat 2nd Oct
The San Francisco Bath House, Wellington