BAND NEWS

Tim Guy Hummabyes Tour

Date Added : 28th October, 2013 @ 21:28

Tim Guy is kicking off a 20 date national tour to promote his new album Hummabyes with a special performance at Shanghal Lils.

Hummabyes is Tim’s second album and is a refreshing set of whimsical alt. country flavoured indie-pop songs chock full of charmingly hummable tunes. He recorded it at home with his flatmates, who just happen to be Anika Moa (bass, bvs) and Anna Coddington (drums, bvs).

Anika is busy touring her own new album so Ned Ngatae (Trinity Roots, Hollie Smith) will be filling in for her on bass on the tour and Anna will be playing drums and providing some heavenly backing vocals. Anna will be performing her own material as support from her forthcoming debut album.

Here's what the critics have been saying about Hummabyes:

"This gentle album is so light it makes the Bats sound like Thin Lizzy.
Auckland-based singer-songwriter Guy has stripped his music back to airy arrangments for guitar and bass (with ukulele, slide, harmonica and triangle where required) but the whole thing has a summershine spaciousness and the smart production lets these whimsical (but never twee) songs breathe even more gently.
Beautiful backing vocals by Anika Moa and Anna Coddington, a few classy but discreet guests, and who knew the Tokey Tones would ever have such a profound influence?
Soft pop which just charms like crazy -- right up until the final track which is a funny and wheezy singalong for drunken uncles at a wedding."
Graham Reid, Elsewhere

"Hummabyes is an unassuming pop gem."
**** (four stars)
Mart Duda, Real Groove

"If Tim Guy were to sing these songs to me as we sailed our rowboat into the lazy horizon, I’d sure be perfectly happy. It’d be ok, because his bandmates Anna Coddington and Anika Moa would be there singing the sweetest harmonies this side of the Tasman, and tastefully augmenting Tim’s guitar work with their bass/drums combo. I guess my point is, this is some hardcore sleepily romantic music. It all sounds effortless and the songs roll along like some kind of blissed out Sunday afternoon."

Matt Crawley, Eavesdrop

For those not so Auckland-centric, here is the full list of tour dates:

Wed 28 Nov TOUR LAUNCH Shanghai Lils, Auckland
Thu 29 Nov Matinee, New Plymouth
Fri 30 Nov St Peters Community Hall, Paekakariki
Sat 1 Dec Mussel Inn, Takaka w/ Age Pryor
Sun 2 Dec Marahau Park Café, Marahau
Mon 3 Dec Saracens Café, Karamea
Tue 4 Dec Crooked Mile Theatre, Hokitika
Wed 5 Dec Blue Ice Café, Franz Josef
Thurs 6 Dec Cinema Paradiso, Wanaka
Fri 7 Dec Revolver, Queenstown
Sat 8 Dec Fiordland Cinema, Te Anau
Sun 9 Dec Backstage, Dunedin
Tue 11 Dec Penguin Club, Oamaru
Wed 12 Dec Harbour Light, Lyttleton
Thu 13 Dec Le Café, Picton
Fri 14 Dec Phat Club, Nelson
Sat 15 Dec Sandwiches, Wellington w/ Age Pryor
Sat 22 Dec Leigh Sawmill, Leigh w/ Paul McLaney

user image Added by

All band news

related artists

comments
Total: 1
user imageLoving "Cater for Lovers" at the moment - so nice :)

You can have a listen to a bunch of his tracks on the Tim Guy page at Monkey Records.

Posted by xurizaemon on 26th February, 2008 @ 08:32



your comments

You'll need to be logged in to continue.
Not a member? It's FREE. Join now »



All news