click here for more
The Darkness Announce New Zealand Tour With Push Push

The Darkness Announce New Zealand Tour With Push Push

Tuesday 29th November, 2016 9:18AM

Ostentatious English outfit The Darkness will be landing in New Zealand for three shows in April supported by reformed local act Push Push. The Darkness, which brings together brothers Justin and Dan Hawkins with bassist Frankie Poullain and new drummer Rufus Taylor (son of Queen drummer Roger Taylor), are coming this way for their first headline show on these shores as they gear up to release their as-yet-untitled fifth studio album. Meanwhile, for the Mikey Havoc-fronted act Push Push the tour will see them deliver their first shows in 24 years, which are hinted to include material from an upcoming album. Here are the details...

The Darkness with Push Push

Thursday 20th April, The Powerstation
, Auckland
Friday 21st April, Hunter Lounge, Victoria University, Wellington

Saturday 22nd April, The Foundry, Christchurch

Head to for ticket info.

Here's The Dakrness' 2003 breakthrough hit "I Believe In A Thing Called Love'

Here's 'Barbarian' from their latest album Last Of Our Kind...

And here's Push Push with their 1992 song 'Trippin'....


Plus1 presents:
The Darkness
Announce first NZ Tour with Push Push
Auckland, Christchurch & Wellington shows for April 2017

Flamboyant English hard-rockers The Darkness have announced their first ever New Zealand tour – with shows in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch in April 2017 – and they will be joined by Kiwi legends Push Push, reforming after 24 years!

Relive the classics from The Darkness' outstanding debut album, Permission To Land (2003) right through to their most recent album, Last Of Our Kind. Expect gems like "I Believe In A Thing Called Love", "Growing On Me", "Love Is Only A Feeling", "One Way Ticket" and many more.

Tickets on-sale from 9am, Thursday 1st December. 
More details from

Looking forward to their first New Zealand tour aside from a short Big Day Out one-off show in 2004 - are Darkness brothers Justin and Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain (bass) and new drummer Rufus Taylor (son of Queen drummer Roger Taylor).

The band rose to stardom with the release of their debut album, Permission To Land which was certified quadruple platinum in the UK. Since 2003, they released three more albums (One Way Ticket To Hell... And Back, Hot Cakes and the most recent album, Last of Our Kind).

As a very special addition to the line-up, New Zealand’s own Push Push reform for their first shows after a 24 year-long break. The Kiwi legends – fronted by Mikey Havoc – will blast through the hits as well as unveil new material from their forthcoming EP, due out in the New Year. Push Push is Mikey Havoc (Vocals), Silver (Rhythm Guitar), Andy Kane (Lead Guitar), Steve Abplanalp (Bass), Scott Cortese (Drums).

The explosive five piece released their debut album in 1992, A Trillion Shades of Happy, which featured their #1 hit single "Trippin’", and pushed the group further up into New Zealand's singles chart with more hits such as "What My Baby Likes" and "Song 27". 

Lead guitarist, Andy Kane says of the reunion: “Pretty apt that we’re emerging from the darkness of the last 24 years to gig with The Darkness. We’re all frikkin pumped and totally amped to get back on stage together."


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2019 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here