click here for more
Raggamuffin Reveal First Line-Up For 2016

Raggamuffin Reveal First Line-Up For 2016

Thursday 23rd July, 2015 12:13PM

The organisers of Raggamuffin have revealed the first line-up for the 2016 event. The one-day festival, which is set to take place at Auckland's Trusts Arena will be headlined by reggae musician Eddy Grant and hip hop star CeeLo Green, who will be joined by the likes of Sly & Robbie, Inner Circle, Maxi Priest, Junior Marvin’s Wailers, Spawnbreezie, Boo Yaa T.R.I.B.E, Three Houses Down and Tomorrow People. Along with the announcement, it has also been revealed that the festival will be an all-ages event, with children under 14 allowed free entry and those aged between 14-17 will be eligible for a special ticket price.. Here are the details...

Ragamuffin IX
Saturday 20th February 2016, The Trusts Arena, Auckland

Featuring... Eddy Grant, CeeLo Green, Sly & Robbie, Inner Circle, Maxi Priest, Junior Marvin’s Wailers, Spawnbreezie, Boo Yaa T.R.I.B.E, Three Houses Down, Tomorrow People


Here is CeeLo Green's just-released tribute to late actor Robin Williams...

And here is Eddy Grant with the classic jam 'Electric Avenue'...


Headlined by Eddy Grant and CeeLo Green
New site layout
Saturday 20 February 2016
Tickets on public sale from Monday 10 August
Family Friendly Event
Pioneering reggae icon Eddy Grant and five time Grammy Award winner CeeLo Green will headline New Zealand’s premiere reggae and urban festival Raggamuffin.

Raggamuffin IX will take place at The Trust Arena in Auckland on Saturday 20 February 2016 featuring top reggae and urban acts.

Joining the line-up for the one-day event will be Sly & Robbie, Inner Circle, Maxi Priest, Junior Marvin’s Wailers, Spawnbreezie, Boo Yaa T.R.I.B.E, Three Houses Down and Tomorrow People.

Heading the reggae offering is the legendary Eddy Grant, whose hits are cemented in reggae’s Hall of Fame – from his 1968 Number One hit ‘Baby Come Back’ to chart-toppers ‘Electric Avenue’, ‘War Party’ and ‘Gimme Hope Jo’Anna’. Grant continues to reinvent the sound of reggae with mash-ups of reggae, ska, calypso, and Carribean and African music.

With five Grammy Awards under his belt, CeeLo Green continues to be one of the most respected and original international hip hop stars crossing genres and gaining worldwide recognition.

More acts are to be announced for Raggamuffin IX and a competition to find an opening act for the Festival will be launched in November.

Raggamuffin IX will be the second time the festival has played in Auckland and spokesperson Brotha D (Danny Leaosavai'i) says a major change has been moving the event to February when the weather is more like to promise a sunny day.

Brotha D adds that festivalgoers will also notice some big changes to the site at The Trusts Arena.

“Last year was our first time at the site and while we know our audience had a great time, we’re making changes so it will be even better. The Village will be down on the same level as the main stage and we’re working to add more entertainment and amusement options in the Village area.

“And this year we’re an all ages Festival so we’re encouraging people to bring their families along – children under 14 will be free when accompanied by an adult ticketholder, and we’ve introduced a special youth ticket for young people aged 14 to 17.”

Raggamuffin has traditionally supported New Zealand youth charities with the last two events raising funds for charity Y for Youth. The charity for the 2016 Festival will be the Raukatauri Music Therapy Trust – an organisation which provides music therapy to special needs children.

Pre-sale tickets for Raggamuffin IX are available from Monday 27 July. Early bird tickets are on sale to the general public from Monday 10 August until Monday 24 August through Ticketmaster - and Red Rat clothing stores.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2018 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here