click here for more
2010 APRA Silver Scroll Award Finalists

2010 APRA Silver Scroll Award Finalists

Thursday 29th July, 2010 9:24AM

APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association) is proud to announce the finalists for the 2010 APRA Silver Scroll Award; New Zealand’s most prestigious award recognising outstanding creative excellence in songwriting and composition.

From a list of 20 songs released earlier this month, the songwriters and composers of New Zealand – the 7,500+ APRA Members – have chosen their songwriting champions for 2010.

- A New Dialogue by Julia Deans

- Autumn by Matthew Hope, Jonathan Pearce, Reuben Stephens & Alexander Freer (Artisan Guns)

- Running Through The Fire (Storm) by Anika Moa

- Say Goodbye by Ruban Nielson & Kody Nielson (Mint Chicks)

- Young Blood by Aaron Short, Alisa Xayalith & Thom Powers (The Naked And Famous)

Anthony Healey, Director of NZ Operations for APRA, says “The world changes rapidly but the one thing that is constant is a great song. It all starts with the song. Lyrics and melodies that stay etched in your mind. These five songs are wonderful examples of this.”

Not only are the finalists chosen by their peers, their works will be performed by their peers. Under the tutelage of Music Director Karl Steven (Supergroove, The Drab Doo Riffs), unique renditions of each of the above songs will be performed at the invite only APRA Silver Scroll Awards on Wednesday 8 September at the Auckland Town Hall.

Also on the night, in recognition of the contribution music makes to New Zealand’s culture and heritage, there will be another induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame. Set up in 2007 with RIANZ, the 2010 inductee(s) will join the ranks of Richard Nunns, Hirini Melbourne, Ray Columbus & The Invaders, The Topp Twins, Johnny Devlin, Jordan Luck & Straitjacket Fits.

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards are a celebration of our songwriting best – across all genres and measures of success. As such, a nod will be made to the Most Performed Works, both here and overseas, and the presentation of the following awards:

The APRA Maioha Award – celebrating contemporary Maori music. The finalists are:

Jamie Greenslade with Sin City (feat. Awa) by maitreya

Ngatapa Black, Shane Taipari & Julian Wilcox with He Maimai Aroha by Miss Black

Ahorangi Winitana with Óku Máreikura by Ahorangi Winitana

SOUNZ Contemporary Award – celebrating contemporary classical composition. The finalists are:
Chris Gendall with Rudiments
Ross Harris with Violin Concerto No.1
Chris Cree Brown with Inner Bellow To learn more about the Silver Scroll Awards, including past winners and performances, please visit 2010 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Auckland Town Hall – Wednesday 8 September

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2020 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here