MUSIC NEWS
Hopetoun Brown Announce Album Release Tour + New Video

Hopetoun Brown Announce Album Release Tour + New Video

Thursday 1st October, 2015 1:16PM

Auckland duo Hopetoun Brown are hitting the road for an extensive run of dates around the country to support the release of their debut album Burning Fuse. Made up Nick Atkinson and Tim Stewart, the pair have a friendship stretching back to schoolyard days that has seen them work together on many projects over the years including making up the horn section for seminal group Supergroove. As Hopetoun Brown the two men cook up something completely different, bringing to the table on fiery hot blues and stone cold rhythms. Burning Fuse is set for release on 30th October, and here are the tour details...


Hopetoun Brown - 'Burning Fuse' Nationwide Tour

Friday 30th October, Auckland Village Music, Mt Eden
Saturday 31st October, Nivara Lounge, Hamilton
Sunday 1st November, The Rouge Stage,Rotorua
Thursday 5th November, The Wunderbar, Lyttelton
Friday 6th November, The Grain Store Gallery, Oamaru
Saturday 7th November, Taste Merchants, Dunedin
Sunday 8th November, The Sherwood, Queenstown
Thursday 12th November, The Firehouse, Hokitika
Friday 13th November, Dharma Bums Club, Wairau Valley
Saturday 14th November, Private House Concert, Carterton
Sunday 15th November, Private House Concert, Napier
Sunday 22nd November, Leigh Sawmiull Cafe, Leigh

Tickets to select shows available HERE at UTR


Enjoy the brand new video for the album's titular track 'Burning Fuse'...


PRESS RELEASE:

Hopetoun Brown Release Debut Album - Supergroove’s Tim Stewart And Nick Atkinson Debut Album and Nationwide Tour.

Welded to their shrieking horns as children, they’ve hot forged tunes from their fiery friendship ever since.

They met aged eight and started playing horns at thirteen, which is about the time they formed a blues band that would go on to become the barnstorming multi-platinum act Supergroove. Tim Stewart and Nick Atkinson continue to play with the seven-piece Hall of Famers, but they’ve always had this other thing going on.

They named their duo Hopetoun Brown after the Ponsonby streets they used to live on and once Stewart started to sing over Atkinson’s bass clarinet they’d found a sound all their own.

On October 30th the band release their debut album Burning Fuse recorded in Lyttelton at Ben Edwards’ studio, The Sitting Room and in Mt Eden at Oliver Harmer’s joint The Lab. The recording was mastered at Kog by Chris Chetland and the album is distributed physically and across all digital platforms by Southbound.

The sound of Hopetoun Brown comes from the blues, informed by the sample driven rhythms of hip-hop. Yet the duo take great inspiration from the raft of local country acts coming out of the Lyttelton Records stable and you’ll often find them collaborating live with the likes of Will Wood and Tami Neilson. You’ll also see Hopetoun Brown on stage with Weird Together this summer.

Hopetoun Brown launch their twelve date national tour and their debut album Burning Fuse with an elaborate, star-studded show as part of the Village Music Winter Concert series in Mt Eden on October 30th. The pair will be performing their brand new record studded with tunes by special guests including songwriter and guitarist Jol Mulholland, the trumpet playing leader of Carnivorous Plant Society Finn Scholes and Silver Scroll winner Tami Neilson.



comments
Total: 1 [RSS]
user image
Stunning, I loved it. When are you coming to Sydney?
Posted by Rosemary Noonan - anonymous 1 month ago


your comments
related gigs
Hopetoun Brown With Special Guests
Fri 30th Oct, The Mt Eden Village Centre, Auckland
Hopetoun Brown - The Burning Fuse Tour
Sat 31st Oct, Nivara Lounge, Hamilton
Hopetoun Brown
Sun 1st Nov, Rotorua Museum, Rotorua
Hopetoun Brown - Burning Fuse Tour
Thu 5th Nov, Wunderbar, Lyttelton
Hopetoun Brown - Burning Fuse Tour
Fri 6th Nov, Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru
Hopetoun Brown - Burning Fuse Tour
Sat 7th Nov, Taste Merchants, Dunedin
Hopetoun Brown Burning Fuse Tour
Sun 8th Nov, The Sherwood, Queenstown
Hopetoun Brown - Burning Fuse Tour
Thu 12th Nov, Hokitika Firehouse, Hokitika
Hopetoun Brown Burning Fuse Tour
Fri 13th Nov, Dharma Bums Club, Blenheim
Hopetoun Brown
Sat 14th Nov, Private House Concert, Carterton
Hopetoun Brown Burning Fuse Tour
Sun 15th Nov, Private House Concert, Napier
Hopetoun Brown - Burning Fuse Tour
Sun 22nd Nov, Leigh Sawmill Cafe, Leigh






Subscribe
Popular