click here for more
Carnivorous Plant Society Share North Island Tour Dates + Single 'Car Dance'

Carnivorous Plant Society Share North Island Tour Dates + Single 'Car Dance'

Friday 9th February, 2018 12:05PM

Auckland alt-pop group Carnivorous Plant Society have big things planned for the coming year. They've got a shiny new album The New King set to drop mid-March, and have lined up a North Island tour in celebration of the forthcoming record. With a lush, orchestral pop sound that bears comparison with Flying Nun luminaries The Able Tasmans, the group's shows are a treat for both the ears and eyes, as the band is often accompanied by animated projected visuals by bandleader Finn Scholes. The group have unveiled catchy single 'Car Dance' featuring Tiny Ruins (aka Hollie Fullbrook) as a teaser for their upcoming adventures, Scholes shared some words on the new tune...

“Car Dance came to me while sitting in traffic, I noticed that when two cars switch lanes it kind of looks like they're dancing. This dance combined with the struggles of being stuck in traffic brought to me fantasies of escape. I knew right away that Hollie's voice would be perfect for the tune because it has a child like quality that reminds me of a kid stuck in the back of a car with dreams of freedom. The second half of the piece is supposed to represent the happy place these children would escape to should they achieve their dreams.”

Carnivorous Plant Society - The New King Tour

Friday 23rd March, Titirangi Music Festival
Friday 30th March + Saturday 31st March - Waiheke Jazz Festival
Friday 6th April - Napier, Sitting Room Session
Saturday 7th April - Moon, Wellington*
Friday 13th April - Tuning Fork, Auckland (with Eb & Sparrow)
Saturday 14th April - Butter Factory, Whangarei (free show)
Sunday 15th April, Leigh Sawmill*

Tickets and more info available HERE via UTR*


'The New King' will be out Friday 16th March.


Links
facebook.com/carnivorousplantsociety/

Share this
Subscribe
 

Buy
Sat 7th Apr
MOON, Wellington
Buy
Sun 15th Apr
Leigh Sawmill, Auckland