click here for more
Download:  With Love From: Melbourne - A New Compilation Series

Download: With Love From: Melbourne - A New Compilation Series

Thursday 12th August, 2010 4:33PM

Too often when musicians leave NZ to live overseas they are forgotten about and/or never heard from again – well not anymore. “With Love From” is a series of compilations we're offering for stream or download that have been put together by bands/artists currently residing in cities abroad of music that they are surrounded by and of course something new from them.

The first compilation has been put together by Sam Walsh from the band Damsels and NZ label Mole Music who, until recently, was living in Melbourne. A few fell through the cracks apparently, bands will be bands after all, but even so he has put together a great collection of tracks most with a kiwi connection.

We hope you find something you like - here's the tracklist - you can download the compilation below.

01. Damsels – "Violence"
This is a new song from their as yet untitled upcoming release.

02. White Birds and Lemons – “Shapes”
Originally from Auckland, WB&L moved to Melbourne a couple of years ago and since making this compilation have disbanded after a series of unfortunate incidences - more info here:

03. Dirty Cosby - "The Aeroplane Song"
Young and dangerous. Duet, Dirty Cosby. Filthy, Ambitious, Fuzz driven. The two lases recorded with Dean Muller last year and released their EP 'Cherubim'. Extremely intense, feeding over each others sound.

04. Great Earthquake - "Clap Clap"
Great Earthquake is Noah Symons a visual artist and musician from Melbourne and "Clap Clap" is the first track of his new album Drawings.

05. Teen Archer - "Lock Up Man"
Dischordant garage punk from Melbourne. "Lock Up Man" is taken from their Debut 10" out now on EXO records.

06. Tourettes - "I Think Maybe I Miss You"
Tourettes moved to Melbourne from Auckland a couple of months ago and while not a new song a fitting sentiment for this compilation.

07. Sharpie Crows - "Fifteen Golden Balls pt.2"
Well these guys really need no introduction – we’ve been banging on about them for awhile now. “Fifteen Golden Balls pt.2 is from their new EP Golf Course/Mass Graves out August 30th .

08. Brahski - "Storybook Evolutionary"
Brahski are a Melbourne based, NZ born group. While living in NZ, Timon and Fagan played some rock music in The New Caledonia. Now, joined by Greg and Stevie, they alternately play psychedelic versions of Under The Sea and Circle Of Life, thus filling the obvious gap in the market.

09. East Brunswick All Girls Choir - "Thanks for the Fucking Job"
EBAGC are no strangers to NZ having played all over the country at the start of the year. This track is from their album Dead Air released last year.

Lots of Love – Melbourne and Damsels. All rights reserved by the artists.

The next compilation is from Nashville and has been compiled by Renee-Louise Carafice.

With Love From: Melbourne - Click here to download

More Downloads

Share this