click here for more
BNET Music Awards 2007

BNET Music Awards 2007

Thursday 4th October, 2007 12:00AM

bNet Nominations announcement

Wednesday 3rd October 20072007 bNet NZ Music AwardsThe 10th anniversary bNet awards are well under way.

The voting website will be open from 8am this morning with the nominees being announced on every bNet station right across the country during breakfast: 95bFM in Auckland, The Most FM in New Plymouth, Radio Control in Palmerston North, Radio Active in Wellington, RDU in Christchurch and Radio One in Dunedin. Voting begins on the 3rd October and closes on 2nd November.This year's awards will be held on the Friday the16th of November at the Hopetoun Alpha in Auckland. You will be entertained by hosts from around the country and bands from the past and present that make up the wealth of talent that is the bNet.Also an after party promising a glittering array of dj's from across the bNet stations to keep you dancing well in to the night.Line ups to be announced very soon!!

For now, go to and place your vote!

Keep an ear out for more details.

1. b-net Downbeat/Dub track of 2007
Jefferson Belt – Green Termite
Julien Dyne – Maddingos
Adi Dick – I Will Not Go
Little bushman – where we get born
Unity Pacific – Seven Bells

2. b-net Hip-Hop track of 2007 Tommy Ill – Bill Cosby
Solaa – Chance ft Hollie Smith & USOuljah (Nicolay remix)
The Unscene – Money Won't Save You
Olmecha Supreme Thieves of Sadness
coco solid – crime fighters

3. b-net Pop track of 2007 The Brunettes – Her Hairagami Set
Liam Finn – Second Chance
Ruby Suns – Sister Brother
Coshercott Honeys – We're All Lions
Grayson Gilmour – Battery Acid Ballad

4. b-net Rock track of 2007
HDU – Stupormodel
Cut Off Your Hands – Still Fond
Surf City – Records of a Flagpole Skater
Die! Die! Die! – 155
Grand Prix – Always Beginning

5. b-net Electronic track of 2007
Pig Out – Disco Bag
Poncho San Pedro – Mofo
State of mind – Deeper
Bachelorette – Intergalactic Solitude
Pitch Black – Rude Mechanicals

6. b-net Best Video of 2007
The Sneaks – I'm Lame
The Reduction Agents – the Pool
The Mint Chicks – Walking off a cliff again
The Brunettes – Her Hairagami Set
Shocking Pinks – End of the World

7. b-net Best Live Act of 2007
Mint Chicks
So So Modern
Cobra Khan
Die! Die! Die!

8. b-net Best Cover Design
Liam Finn – I'll Be Lightning
Pig Out – Club Poems
So So Modern – Friendly Fires
Age Pryor – Shanks Pony
Epsilon Blue – Are We There Yet?

9. b-net Best Vocalist
Grayson Gilmore
James Milne
Tyra Hammond
Hollie Smith
Warren Maxwell

10. b-net breakthrough artist of 2007
Pig Out
Tiger Tones
Collapsing Cities
Poncho San Pedro
White Birds & Lemon

11. b-net Radio One Song of the Year
The Tweeks – the Harder it Gets
Haunted Love – Werewolf
Vanadis – Enter the Blue
David Kilgour – BBC World
KOTAC – Death Destroyer 2500

12. b-net RDU Song of the Year
Confucious & Mysterious D – Stingray
The Enright House – Darkwave = MC Squared
Tom Cosm – The Sluzziest of Fuzz
Poncho San Pedro – Mofo
Bachelorette – Intergalactic Solitude

13. b-net Radio Active Song of the Year

Little Bushman – Where We Get Born
So So Modern – Synthgasm
Urban Tramper – Sunset's on the Empty Carnival
Ladyhawke – Back of the Van
Tommy ILL – Sleep & Sound

14. b-net Radio Control Song of the Year
Hoopla – No Fear
B Side Electro Funk Disaster: Adolf
Us As Robots: Strike a pose
Collapse: Fluid
Hallucagia: Dark Side of God

15. b-net Most Song of the Year
Billy Reuben and Cursor: Safe as houses
Duan Kaka: My blue skies
Dean Humphreys: Better of me

16. b-net bfm Song of the Year
SJD – Beautiful Haze
Liam Finn – Second Chance
The Brunettes – Her Hairagami Set
The Sneaks – I'm Lame
Coshercott Honeys – We're All Lions

17. The b-net Song of the Year
Liam Finn – Second Chance
The Brunettes – Her Hairagami Set
Coshercott Honeys – We're All Lions
Grayson Gilmour – Battery Acid Ballad
Die! Die! Die! – 155

18. The b-net Artist of the Year
Liam Finn
Cut Off Your Hands
Little Bushman

19. The b-net album of the Year
The Brunettes – Structure & Cosmetics
SJD – Songs From a Dictaphone
Liam Finn – I'll Be Lightning
Little Bushman – The Onus of Sand
Pig Out – club poems
These 2 awards not for public voting
Music Directors to vote for their favourites sometime in October

20. b-net Best Producer*
Jonathon Bree – Brunettes "Structure & Cosmetics"
Sean Donnelly (SJD)
Liam Finn – Liam Finn
Lee Prebble – The Black Seeds

21. The b-net Outstanding Achievement of 2007 Award
The Brunettes – Signed to Sub Pop / based in USA
Shapeshifter – Domination of NZ & overseas crowds (with Soulstice & Live)
Hollie Smith – Blue Note signing
The Shocking Pinks – signed to DFA
Cut Off Your Hands – Global appeal (SXSW / Recording with Bernard Butler in UK etc)
Black Seeds – signed to Sonar Collective

Go to and place your vote!

Share this