click here for more
click here for more

Taite Music Prize 2020

Tue May 5th, 2020
Streaming Event,

info_outline  This gig has been.
Stream Open
Stream starts
All Ages
Share This Gig
Gig Information

The Taite Music Prize will be taking a slightly different stage for its 11th year. Originally to take place at Auckland's Q Theatre, the annual awards ceremony will now be live-streamed direct to your screens on May 5th at 6.30 pm!
Alongside the main Taite Music Prize, winners of the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut, Independent Music NZ Classic Record and the Independent Spirit Award will accept their awards via live stream across multiple platforms.
Join us in celebrating some of Aotearoa's finest singer/songwriters!

Catch the live stream at Undertheradar here:

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of New Zealand’s most respected music journalists, the award recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one recording. The prize-winner will receive a cash prize of NZ$12,500 to be spent as they wish, thanks to Taite Music Prize founding partner Recorded Music NZ; recording time at Red Bull Studios Auckland; and a year’s supply of Red Bull product.

Taite Music Prize finalists...
Aldous Harding – Designer (Flying Nun Records/4AD)
Beastwars – IV (Destroy Records)
JessB – New Views (JessB/The Orchard)
L.A.B. – L.A.B. III (Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa)
Lawrence Arabia – Lawrence Arabia’s Singles Club (Honorary Bedouin Records)
Louis Baker – Open (Louis Baker Music/Ditto Music)
Mermaidens – Look Me In The Eye (Flying Nun Records)
Miss June – Bad Luck Party (Miss June/Frenchkiss Records/The Orchard)
Tiny Ruins – Olympic Girls (Ursa Minor)
Troy Kingi – Holy Colony Burning Acres (Triple A Records)

Alongside the main prize, three additional awards will be presented at the ceremony: the Independent Music NZ Classic Record Award, the newly created Independent Spirit Award, awarded to a New Zealand person who assists our NZ musicians to grow and find their own unique pathways, and the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award, celebrating the freshest talent of Aotearoa. The winner receives a $2,000 cash prize and live performance opportunity thanks to Auckland Live.

Auckland Live Best Independent Debut finalists...
Tom Ludvigson & Trevor Reekie – Roto (Jazzscore)
Repulsive Woman – Relief (Independent)
Mousey – Lemon Law (Independent)

Independent Music NZ Classic Record Award goes to...

acoustic/solo, alternative, art/noise, electronic, hip hop/rnb, jazz, punk/hardcore, reggae/dub, soul/funk

Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Set Gig Reminders
Google calender
more alerts

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!

Gig Guide Quick Links
Add your gigs! (Free), Find tickets, Advanced Search, iCal gigs, UTR Gig Guide on Twitter, Advertise your event