click here for more
click here for more

Joe Kaptein / Eternal Afternoon Album Release Show

Thu Jul 18th, 2024

info_outline  This gig has been.
info_outline  Online Sales Closed
Doors open
Gig starts
Share This Gig
Gig Information

Multi-instrumentalist, composer, and producer Joe Kaptein has been quietly making a name for himself in the Auckland music scene, collaborating with artists as diverse as Nathan Haines, The Circling Sun, Princess Chelsea, The Situations and Muroki.

Despite the hectic schedule, he has also self-released three albums of original drum machine/synth-driven psych-lounge music, drawing inspiration from genres as diverse as krautrock, experimental jazz, and Bacharachian pop.

These collaborations and recording experiments have led to Eternal Afternoon, Joe's first album arranged and produced with a full band. Intricately layered keyboards and synthesisers centre the kaleidoscopic instrumentation, surrounded by flutes and saxes courtesy of Aotearoa jazz luminary Nathan Haines, and earthy grooves are supplied by local heavyweights Elijah Whyte on drums and Wil Goodinson on bass, all enhanced with layers of lush percussion, guitars and glockenspiels. The album channels the moods and grooves of 70s jazz-funk innovators such as Donald Byrd and Lonnie Liston Smith, with hints of dub and disco thrown in.

Eternal Afternoon, out 12th July on Sarang Bang Records, consists of five original compositions and one cover opening with the sunny jazz-funk of debut single “Unwavering”, latin jazz-dance groover “Eternal Afternoon”, the Mizell Brothers-esque funk exploration “Sundown”, soul-jazz slow burner “Lonnie”, and 13-minute dub-funk epic “Gene’s Groove”. The album closes with a version of Minnie Riperton’s “Oh, By The Way”, composed by the legendary Chicagoan musician Charles Stepney, reimagined as a Wurlitzer-led instrumental.

On July 18th Eternal Afternoon will be performed live on stage with Joe leading a full 9-piece band from behind a sonic spaceship of several 70s keyboards. Wil Goodinson on bass, Elijah Whyte on drums, Jason Herbert on guitar, Shaun O’Kane on bass clarinet, Kurt Dyer and Ben Frater on percussion, who all appear on the album; with extra heat supplied by Julien Dyne on congas and percussion and JY Lee on flute and saxophone, adding their magic to the mix. Futuristic free jazz experimentalists Fruju Peak will open the night with their psychedelic sounds. Not to be missed!

Tickets are $20 from Undertheradar or $30 on the door. Vinyl LP presales will also be available on the night, with shipment of the vinyl expected in September. Don’t miss out on this evening of lush psyched-out jazz-funk!

electronic, jazz, soul/funk, Fruju Peak, Joe Kaptein, Julien Dyne, JY Lee, Wil Goodinson, Jason Herbert

Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Set Gig Reminders
Google calender
more alerts

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!

Nirvana Tribute (UK) with Sludge Factory (Alice In Chains Tribute Band)
Hard Techno
Artists For Palestine
The Menzingers
Loves Ugly Children
Going Global Presents - Night One
Rio Funk - J Balvin After Party
Steve Harris - British Lion
Finally....Sandy Rivera [Kings Of Tomorrow]

SAZ & friends
Elisa: 'What Am I' Single Release Show

Gig Guide Quick Links
Add your gigs! (Free), Find tickets, Advanced Search, iCal gigs, UTR Gig Guide on Twitter, Advertise your event