click here for more
click here for more
Lineup Announced For Nowhere! Festival 2018

Lineup Announced For Nowhere! Festival 2018

Wednesday 19th September, 2018 2:57PM

Auckland's Audio Foundation have announced the senses-shattering lineup for this year's Nowhere! Festival, a four day multi-venue celebration of aural innovation taking place at Whammy Bar, Wine Cellar, Silo Park, and their own venue tucked underneath the Parisian Ties and Belts factory in Myers Park. The biennial festival is always a must-attend affair, this year's huge programme includes the return of Australian doom / drone duo Divide & Dissolve, Belgium synthesiser artist Floris Vanhoof, and rare local appearances by Wellington electronic adventurer Strange Stains, Campbell J Kneale (Birchville Cat Hotel), Francisca Griffin (Look Blue Go Purple), Bruce Russell (Dead C), Oona Verse (Cortina, Sheville), Rosy Parlane and a whole lot more. The full detailed timetable and artist info can be viewed on the Audio Foundation's website here, open your earholes and explore the lineup for each night below...

Nowhere! Festival 2018

Thursday 18th October - Auckland, Audio Foundation, 6.00pm start (all ages)*
Featuring... Kraus + Mick Elborado + Francesca Griffin, O/pus, Oona Verse, Floris Vanhoof, Nereid Moon, Ten Acre Bloc

Friday 19th October – Auckland, Wine Cellar and Whammy Bar, 8.00pm start*
Featuring... The Biscuits, Francisca Griffin and the Bus Shelter Boys, Barbara Paterson, Gorge, Piece War, Divide & Dissolve, Droszkhi, Strange Stains, Fistkisser, Bib Kids, Oksun Ox, Ragged Veins, P.Wits, I.R.D, Bruce Russell + Jeff Henderson, Sewage, Lost Leader, Kimmy

Saturday 20th October – Auckland, Silo Park, 2,00pm to 10.00pm (all ages, FREE)
Featuring... Essential 5th Elements Brass Band, Orchestra of Snares, Slaxative, Some Stringent Strings, The Not Quite Quiet Choir, Peter Porteous + Bruce Russell + Tom Rodwell, Campbell J Kneale, Reuben Derrick, Susanna Ferrar, Chronic Fatigue Sindrome, Rosy Parlane, Richard Francis, Empirical, K group, Stephen Bain

Sunday 21st October – Auckland, Audio Foundation, 2.00pm to 10.00pm (all ages)*
Featuring... Rachel Shearer, SL + Nilfisk, Campbell J Kneale, Liam Bowen, Barbara Paterson, Bad Bandmate, Hermione Johnson, I.R.D, Pumice + Jade, Francisca Griffin (solo), The Family, Reuben Derrick + bOnEheAd + John Bell, Pom Pom, Sophi & Evelyn

Tickets and festival passes available HERE via UTR*

Watch Divide and Dissolve's video for their powerful song 'Black Supremacy'...

Here's Strange Stains' swirling number 'Somebody Else's House'...

Watch a mind-blowing clip for Campbell James Kneale's 'Timid Seamstress'...

Check out footage of Hermione Johnson performing in Christchurch at the Lines Of Flight festival 2012...

Press release:

Aotearoa's premiere festival of adventurous and avant-garde sonics is back, bringing more than 50 incredible acts of off-kilter experimentation to Auckland for four days and nights of boundary-pushing sonic bombardment.

Over Labour Weekend, artists from as far away as Belgium will converge across the city to engage in radical sound making, sonics on the edge of perception, extreme instrumental techniques, vocal catharsis and all round sensory stimulations!

In addition to utilising Auckland's holy trinity of underground music venues – Audio Foundation, the Wine Cellar and Whammy Bar, this years Nowhere! Festival also takes over the spectacular acoustics of the Silo’s on Auckland waterfront for a day and night of reverb drenched experimentation.

Artist List : Floris Vanhoof – Divide and Dissolve – Piece War – Bruce Russell – O/pus – Francisca Griffin and the Bus Shelter Boys – Gorge – Sewage – Fistkisser – Strange Stains – The Biscuits – Barbara Paterson – Nereid Moon – Bib Kids – Rosy Parlane – K Group – Oksun Ox – Oona Verse – Ten Acre Bloc – Reuben Derrick – Motoko Kikkawa – Kraus – Mick Elborado – Gabriel Griffin – Peter Porteous – Ragged Veins – P.Wits – I.R.D – Droszkhi – Lost Leader – Essential 5th Elements Brass Band – Orchestra of Snares – Campbell Kneale – Empirical – Richard Francis – Pumice – Chronic Fatigue Sindrome – Susanna Ferrar – Ro RG – Liam Bowen – SL – Nilfisk – Jeff Henderson – The Family – Pom Pom – Hermione Johnson – Rosie Langabeer – Tom Rodwell – bOnEhead – John Bell – Rachel Shearer – Slaxative – The Not Quite Quiet Choir – Kimmy – Some Stringent Strings – Sophie & Evelyn – Stephen Bain – Bad Bandmate

Highlights include :

OPENING NIGHT : the Audio Foundation HQ hosts some unique ear bending sound squelchers : Thurs 18 Oct – 6pm – 11pm

Floris Vanhoof (Belgium) – playing his synth operated by brain waves! Oona Verse – NZ’s first lady of Rock n Roll Yodelling Ten Acre Bloc – massed orchestra with improvising conductors and much more!

AUDIO OVERLOAD : at the Wine Cellar/Whammy Bar – more than 20 acts over 3 stages running simultaneously : Fri 19 Oct – 8pm - late

Divide and Dissolve (Melbourne) – heavy doom duo from Melbourne Barbara Paterson – extraordinary solo vocalist performing the Berio Sequenza! Sewage – explosive Dunedin duo Gorge – transcendent noise rock from Palmerston North Francisca Griffin and the Bus Shelter Boys – Flying Nun legend ex Look Blue Go Purple and much more!

SILO PARK : an 8 hour marathon in the unique acoustics of the Silo’s on Auckland's waterfront featuring ensembles and new works produced specifically for the site : Sat 20 Oct – 2pm – 10pm

Essential 5th Elements Brass Band – a 20 piece brass ensemble of beginner brass players Orchestra of Snares – yup, all snare drums! K Group, Empirical, Richard Francis, Rosy Parlane – solo sets by legends of NZ experimental music. Bruce Russell/Peter Porteous/Tom Rodwell – heavy noise guitar trio! and much more!

NO DAY OF REST : an afternoon and evening of small groups, solos and first time meetings at Audio Foundation : Sun 21 Oct – 2 - 10pm

Campbell J Kneale (Our Love Will Destroy the World/Birchville Cat Motel) – high priest of volume and density flips and plays very quietly! Rachel Shearer – deep listening environments by renowned Sonic Artist The Family – guitar/electronic whizz Kraus with his Sth Island whanau Motoko Kikkawa, Gabriel Griffin and Ro Ro G Pumice & Jade – Porous songs with glowing depth! and much more!


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!

Nowhere! Festival 2018
Thu 18th Oct 6:00pm
Audio Foundation, Auckland
Nowhere! Festival 2018
Fri 19th Oct 8:00pm
The Wine Cellar and Whammy Bar, Auckland
Nowhere Festival 2018 - Silo Park
Sat 20th Oct 2:00pm
Silo Park, Auckland
Nowhere! Festival 2018
Sun 21st Oct 2:00pm
Audio Foundation, Auckland