click here for more
Soaked Oats Extend National Tour + Share Single 'Shuggah Doom'

Soaked Oats Extend National Tour + Share Single 'Shuggah Doom'

Photo Credit: Jake Mein / Thursday 31st January, 2019 10:51AM

Rising stars of New Zealand guitar pop Soaked Oats continue to be on the ascendent with the announcement of a fresh wave of free local shows, following hot on the heels of their ongoing 'Shuggah Doom' summer tour of Australasia, continuing in Melbourne this weekend. The indefatigable four-piece have also finally unveiled the aforementioned single 'Shuggah Doom' (pronounced "sugar doom"), the instantly catchy and reflective lead track from their forthcoming EP, along with a charmingly stylish and surreal video directed by Jake Munro. Word's definitely getting out about the hard-gigging band, as they've just been offered a slot at Brighton's prestigious The Great Escape mega-festival this May – if anyone in the UK is keen to book some side-shows for the up-for-it crew, now is your chance. Take in the band's upcoming show info and enjoy the new clip, below Soaked Oats lyricist and lead vocalist Oscar Mein's insightful words on 'Shuggah Doom'...

"The song was written as if writing a script, the video and song play with each other and is intended to make us look at how we narrativise our own lives and desire to have lives worth telling a story about. But how that’s kind of meaningless because it’s about the living and everyone trying their best to do that."

Soaked Oats – 'Shuggah Doom' Tour

Friday 1st February - The Tote, Melbourne (supporting Space Cabanara)
Sunday 3rd February - Grace Darling Hotel, Melbourne
Monday 4th February - Canberrra @ The Phoenix
Wednesday 6th February - Rad Bar, Wollongong
Friday 8th February - Oxford Art Factory, Sydney
Saturday 16th February - Nostalgia Festival, Christchurch
Sunday 17th February - Scotts Brewary, Oamaru w/ Hot in the City*
Thursday 21st February - The Cook, Dunedin*
 Saturday 23rd February - Coastella Festival, Kapiti Coast

Tickets available HERE via UTR*

Corona Sunsets Presents: Soaked Oats

Friday 8th March - La Zeppa, Auckland
Saturday 9th March - Mangawhai Tavern, Mangawhai 
Sunday 10th March - Our Place, Tauranga
Friday 15th March - Fox Glove, Wellington
Wednesday 27th March - Fat Eddie's, Christchurch
Thursday 28th March - Vault21, Dunedin

Thursday 9th May to Saturday 11th May - The Great Escape, Brighton (UK)


Press release:

Encapsulating the New Zealand summer with 'Shuggah Doom's roaming rhythms and twinkling guitars, Soaked Oats deliver an extra six dates to their 13 stop tour around Aotearoa, spreading their slinky sludge pop across our shores with a mixture of festival appearances and headline shows. Nine dates deep into their New Zealand tour, the band are en route to the Land of Plenty (Australia) for a five-date whistle-stop tour.

Links
facebook.com/soakedoats/

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  



Sat 16th Feb
Blue Smoke, Christchurch
Sun 17th Feb
Scotts Brewing Co., Oamaru
Thu 21st Feb
Captain Cook, Dunedin







Content copyright 2019 UnderTheRadar.co.nz | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here