click here for more
Headless Chickens To Reissue Album 'Body Blow' + Share Single 'Bestiary'

Headless Chickens To Reissue Album 'Body Blow' + Share Single 'Bestiary'

Thursday 7th March, 2019 10:17AM

Auckland pioneers of leftfield electronic pop Headless Chickens have announced a special expanded reissue of their breakthrough 1991 Flying Nun Records album Body Blow. Dropping in late March on double vinyl LP and compact disc, the new collection will bundle together the landmark original release featuring such Fiona McDonald-sung classics as 'Cruise Control' and 'Donde Esta La Pollo' with material released by the band between 1991 and 1994, including their chart-topping single 'George', which remains Flying Nun's only number one New Zealand single. A scan of the tracklist below shows a wealth of great tunes will be featured on the expanded edition, including their iconic single 'Gaskrankinstation', 'Mr Moon', 'Million $ Dream' and even the Chooks' superb cover of Abba's 'Super Trouper'. The band's jagged-edged previous album, 1988's Stunt Clown, was announced as the 2018 Taite Music Prize Classic Record, the expanded reissue of Body Blow represents the hit-laden, commercial apex of the group's success.

We spoke with Headless Chickens bandleader Chris Matthews in last August about the band's reformation for 2018's The Others Way festival, he hinted that a live event may soon be on the cards for Body Blow's reissue. Listen to vinyl-only track ‘Bestiary’, which originally appeared on the band's long out of print 1994 CD single for 'George'...

Headless Chickens - Body Blow (Expanded Reissue) tracklist:

A1. Donde Esta La Pollo
A2. Cruise Control
A3. Crash Hot
A4. Railway Surfing
A5. Nose
B1. Million $ Dream
B2. Gaskrankinstation
B3. Body Blow
B4. Choppers (Helibatorn version)
C1. Donde Esta La Pollo (Kentucky Freud Chicken remix)
C2. Choppers (Koppelman version)
C3. Mr Moon
C4. Juice
C5. Cruise Control (Eskimo & Egypt remix)
D1. George
D2. Super Trouper
D3. Attack of the Killer
D4. Bestiary *
D5. Kitchen Sink theme
D6. I’m Talking To You

* Track available on the vinyl only

Body Blow (Expanded Reissue) is out Friday 29th March on double vinyl LP and CD via Flying Nun Records.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2020 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here