click here for more
Goodwin & Kyle Drop Debut Album 'The Downtown Club'

Goodwin & Kyle Drop Debut Album 'The Downtown Club'

Photo credit: Jack Mells / Thursday 4th April, 2019 3:09PM

Fresh from electrifying listeners' earholes with their sizzling singles 'Downtown Club' and current student radio fave 'Gucci', New Zealand electronic duo Goodwin & Kyle have served up a generous selection of ass-shaking tunes with their keenly awaited debut album The Downtown Club. A meeting of minds between Hamish Kyle and Lawrence Fergus Goodwin, the prime movers behind Mramish and Career Girls (respectively), the nine track collection delivers the goods and more. Opener 'Get It Right' features hazy uplifting melodies drifting between club-rattling beats, epic guitar solos and emotive falsetto vocals, setting a dramatic stage for the pumping dance action to come. 'Feelings (Being Felt)' keeps it locked with inter-dimensional techno grooves, Goodwin & Kyle reach for the stars with the soulful and crunchy trip hop of 'Disguise The Limits (Sky's The Limit)', they provide a case study on keeping cool with 'I'm Not Fucking Around', drop a muscular slice of disco funk with 'Vin Diesel', get straight up nasty with the noirish badass rhythms of 'Tiny Little Gangster', and take it home with a stretched out closing club edit of 'Feelings'. Recorded in Auckland and Wellington, guest contributors on the album include Jong-Yun Lee of Yoko-Zuna and Avantdale Bowling Club on sax and synths, saxophonist Aaron Longville, vocalist St. Vaseline and more. As Hot Chocolate once sung, "everyone's a winner, baby" – get amongst The Downtown Club here...


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2019 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here