click here for more
Top 20 Finalists Revealed For APRA Silver Scroll Award 2019

Top 20 Finalists Revealed For APRA Silver Scroll Award 2019

Thursday 11th July, 2019 9:20AM

The 20 song shortlist has been revealed for 2019's APRA Silver Scroll Award, to be presented at Tāmaki Makaurau's Spark Arena on Wednesday 2nd October. Notable names in the running for Aotearoa's highly coveted songwriting prize include 2019 Taite Music Prize finalists The Beths, Alien Weaponry, Mel Parsons and winner Avantdale Bowling Club, alongside newcomers CHAII, Benee, Mousey and teen hip hop high flyers Church & AP.

The shortlist was selected from more than 200 entries by a judging panel of fellow songwriters, including Amanda Cheng (Wax Chattels), Anna Coddington, Chris Mac (Six60), Godfrey de Grut, Jordan Arts (Leisure / High Hoops), Mark Williams (Slave, Fat Freddy’s Drop), Nick Atkinson (Supergroove / Hopetoun Brown), Ria Hall, and Tyra Hammond. APRA members will now be invited to vote for their top five faves, check out the full list here and dive into a Spotify playlist of the songs below...

Ahi Kā, written by Lewis de Jong, Henry de Jong, and Ethan Trembath, performed by Alien Weaponry.

Buttercup, written and performed by Anika Moa.

Can’t Help The Way, written by Gabriel Everett, Ashleigh Wallace, Giorgio Scott, Josh Fountain, performed by Foley

Diagonals, written by Karoline Tamati, Brent Park, Brandon Haru, Julien Dyne, performed by Ladi6.

Digebasse (Enough) written by CHAII, Richard Bryan, and Frank Eliesa, performed by CHAII.

Dust, written by Caleb Nott, Georgia Nott, and Thomas Schleiter, performed by Broods.

Enough, written by Rebecca Mason Melrose, Harry Huavi, and Frank Edward Eliesa, performed by Miloux.

Extreme Highs, written by Sarena Close and Ryan Chin, performed by Mousey.

Happy Unhappy, written by Elizabeth Stokes, performed by The Beths.

Just ‘Cause You Don’t Want Me, written and performed by Mel Parsons.

Look Up, written by Marika Hodgson and Troy Kingi, performed by SORRENTO.

No Emotions In The Wild, written by Daniel Latu, Amon McGoram, and Isaiah Libeau, performed by SWIDT.

Old Images, written and performed by Anthonie Tonnon.

Olympic Girls, written by Hollie Fullbrook, performed by Tiny Ruins.

Ready Or Not, written by Elijah Manu, Albert Purcell, Carey Bentley, and Izak Kennedy, performed by Church & AP.

Soaked, written by Stella Bennett, Josh Fountain, and Djeisan Suskov, performed by Benee.

The Barrel, written by Hannah Topp, performed by Aldous Harding.

The Sacred, written and performed by Lydia Cole.

Where Were You When I Was All You Needed, written by Michael Cathro, performed by Ha The Unclear.

Years Gone By, written by Tom Scott, Hayden Dick, Julien Dyne, Guy Harrison, and Tom Dennison, performed by Avantdale Bowling Club.

Along with the annual APRA Silver Scroll Award, more awards to be presented on Wednesday 2nd October include:

APRA Maioha Award, celebrating exceptional waiata featuring te reo.

SOUNZ Contemporary Award - Te Tohu Auaha, celebrating excellence in contemporary composition.

APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award.

APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award.

APRA will also induct a songwriter (or group of songwriters) into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame, previous inductees include Jenny Morris (2018) and The Clean (2017)

Watch a clip of Finn Andrews, Reb Fountain, Nadia Reid, the Black Quartet and band playing Marlon Williams' 2018 APRA Silver Scroll Award-winning song ‘Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore'...


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!