click here for more
Lake South Shares New Album 'Wellington | Te Upoko O Te Ika'

Lake South Shares New Album 'Wellington | Te Upoko O Te Ika'

A.B. / Friday 2nd August, 2019 12:20PM

Pōneke electronic producer and songwriter Lake South has delivered a new album Wellington | Te Upoko O Te Ika, the follow up to his 2017 debut If You're Born On An Island The Ocean Heals You. As the title suggests, Wellington | Te Upoko O Te Ika takes the listener on a very personal journey through the capital, from Mount Victoria to Karori. In the tradition of The Kinks’ Village Green Preservation Society, or maybe Last Man Down (to bring it a little closer to home), Lake South crafts intricate pop songs dense with nostalgia and emotionally resonant in a way that only comes from naming names (and streets, and suburbs).

Lake South has also released his latest collection in a uniquely conceived physical edition. Each track on Wellington | Te Upoko O Te Ika takes form as a postcard and a place, which you can locate on a specially made app – if you’re close enough to the geographical spot the song represents, the app lets you listen to that track tailored to complement that specific environment. Listen to the album below, and look out for Lake South’s New Zealand tour beginning later in the month...

Lake South ‘Wellington | Te Upoko O Te Ika’ Tour

Friday 23rd August - darkroom, Christchurch w/ Timothy Blackman + guests
Saturday 24th August - The Cook, Dunedin 
w/ Timothy Blackman + guests
Saturday 31st August - Secret Venue, Wellington
Saturday 7th September - Wine Cellar, Auckland w/ Fables
Friday 13th September - Lucky Bar, Whanganui
Saturday 14th September - Snails, Palmerston North

Grab your tickets HERE via UTR


'Wellington | Te Upoko O Te Ika' is out now digitally and in a unique limited physical edition via Lake South's Bandcamp page here. Check out the accompanying app for the album right here.

Links
lake-south.com/wellington
facebook.com/lakesouth/
lakesouth.bandcamp.com/album/wellington-te-upoko-o-te-ika

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  



Buy
Fri 23rd Aug
darkroom, Christchurch
Buy
Sat 24th Aug
The Cook, Dunedin
Buy
Sat 31st Aug
Secret Venue, Wellington
Buy
Sat 7th Sep
The Wine Cellar, Auckland
Buy
Fri 13th Sep
Lucky Bar, Whanganui
Buy
Sat 14th Sep
Snails, Palmerston North







Content copyright 2019 UnderTheRadar.co.nz | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here