click here for more
U.S. Girls Returns With Single 'Overtime' + Announces New Album 'Heavy Light'

U.S. Girls Returns With Single 'Overtime' + Announces New Album 'Heavy Light'

C.C. / Image credit: Jeff Bierk / Tuesday 14th January, 2020 9:38AM

Meg Remy's politically incisive and sonically adventurous 2018 album In A Poem Unlimited was a highlight of that year for many, deservedly receiving a solid placement on Pitchfork's best albums of the 2010s roundup list. Fans can look forward to a host of new material from the Toronto-based multi-media artist's project U.S. Girls in the near future, with a new record named Heavy Light revealed today to be launching in March, heralded by lead single 'Overtime'. Shifting focus to personal narratives from the character studies of In A Poem Unlimited, Heavy Light was produced and recorded live by Remy in collaboration with twenty musicians, who also contributed their own childhood recollections to spoken word interludes scattered throughout the album. The self-directed minimal clip for get-up-and-go first single 'Overtime' pairs emotionally charged foot-stomping soul with stunning digitally manipulated dance work by Andrea Nann of Dreamwalker Dance Company, experience the video here...

U.S. GIRLS – HEAVY LIGHT tracklist

1. 4 American Dollars
2. Overtime
3. IOU
4. Advice To Teenage Self
5. State House (It’s A Man’s World)
6. Born To Lose
7. And Yet It Moves / Y Se Mueve
8. The Most Hurtful Thing
9. Denise, Don’t Wait
10. Woodstock ‘99
11. The Color Of Your Childhood Bedroom
12. The Quiver To The Bomb
13. Red Ford Radio

‘Heavy Light’ releases on Friday 6th March digitally and on white / lavender splatter vinyl LP via 4AD.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2020 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here