click here for more
Thundercat Announces New Album 'It Is What It Is' + Shares Single 'Black Qualls'

Thundercat Announces New Album 'It Is What It Is' + Shares Single 'Black Qualls'

C.C. / Thursday 16th January, 2020 9:03AM

Los Angeles jazz / fusion / you name it virtuoso Thundercat aka Stephen Lee Bruner is back with the first taste from It Is What It Is, the long-awaited follow up to his breakout 2017 album Drunk. Joined by Steve Lacy (The Internet) and funk veteran Steve Arrington (Slave) on instantly addicting new single 'Black Qualls', Thundercat dishes up lashings of bumping in-the-pocket grooves and soulfully delivered lines pondering "what it means to be a black American with a young mindset.” Potential references to The Irishman aside, It Is What It Is promises to feature guest appearances from Kamasi Washington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole, Zack Fox, Ty Dolla $ign and hip hop deity Lil B, while Childish Gambino aka Donald Glover will appear on the album version of 'Black Qualls', dropping in early April...

'It Is What It Is' tracklist:

1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
2. Innerstellar Love
3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
5. Miguel's Happy Dance
6. How Sway
 7. Funny Thing

1. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
2. Dragonball Durag
3. How I Feel
4. King Of The Hill
 5. Unrequited Love
6. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
7. Existential Dread
8. It Is What It Is

'It Is What It Is' is out on Friday 3rd April via BRAINFEEDER.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!