click here for more
click here for more
Taite Music Prize 2020 Finalists Announced

Taite Music Prize 2020 Finalists Announced

C.C. / Thursday 12th March, 2020 9:18AM

The finalists for the Taite Music Prize 2020 have been revealed, with ten artists from throughout Aotearoa in the running for the highly coveted annual award. Named in tribute to legendary New Zealand music journalist Dylan Taite and celebrating its eleventh anniversary this year, the Prize has long been considered to be a critics' choice award that "recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one recording," bestowing the winner with a cash prize of NZ$12,500 (to be spent as they wish), recording time at Red Bull Studios Auckland and a year’s supply of Red Bull product. The winner will be announced at a presentation ceremony event happening at Tāmaki Makaurau's Q Theatre on Monday 20th April. Here's this year's stacked shortlist, whittled down via voting by IMNZ members from a list of 54 nominations, submitted by record labels both independent and major from across the country...

Aldous Harding - Designer (Flying Nun Records/4AD)
Beastwars - IV (Destroy Records)
JessB - New Views (JessB/The Orchard)
L.A.B. - L.A.B. III (Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa)
Lawrence Arabia - Lawrence Arabia’s Singles Club (Honorary Bedouin Records)
Louis Baker - Open (Louis Baker Music/Ditto Music)
Mermaidens - Look Me In The Eye (Flying Nun Records)
Miss June - Bad Luck Party (Miss June/Frenchkiss Records/The Orchard)
Tiny Ruins - Olympic Girls (Ursa Minor)
Troy Kingi - Holy Colony Burning Acres (Triple A Records)

Along with the main prize, three additional awards will be presented on the evening: the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award, the Independent Music NZ Classic Record Award and the Independent Spirit Award (celebrating its third year), awarded to "a New Zealand person who assists our NZ musicians to grow and find their own unique pathways."

The three finalists for the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut are:

Tom Ludvigson & Trevor Reekie - Roto (Jazzscore)
Repulsive Woman - Relief (Independent)
Mousey - Lemon Law (Independent)

IMNZ general manager, Dylan Pellett enthused about the lineup of finalists: “It’s another sterling year of music represented here - what a talented collection of artists! It shows the extraordinary musical and artistic expression to be found in New Zealand, through the recognition of these great albums - I wish all the finalists every success."


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!