click here for more
2020 APRA Maioha Award Finalists Announced

2020 APRA Maioha Award Finalists Announced

Chris Cudby / Image: Rob Ruha, Seth Haapu, Maimoa / Monday 14th September, 2020 10:39AM

The three finalists for the 2020 APRA Maioha Award were revealed over the weekend, recognising the art of contemporary Māori songwriting and honouring composers who are telling their stories in the language of Te Ao Māori. To be announced at this year's APRA Silver Scroll Award presentation ceremony at Auckland Town Hall on Wednesday 14th October, the winner of the 2020 APRA Maioha Award will be revealed alongside the recipients of the SOUNZ Contemporary Award, APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award, APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award along with the 2020 Silver Scroll winner. Waiata by Seth Haapu, Maimoa and multiple Maioha Award winner Rob Ruha are in the running for this year's prestigious prize, listen to the finalists here...

• 'Ka Mānu' by Rob Ruha — performed by Bella Kalolo, Maisey Rika, Majic, Ria Hall, Rob Ruha, Seth Haapu, Troy Kingi, and The Witch Dr

• 'Ūkaipō' by Seth Haapu

• 'Whāia' by Pere Wihongi Meto-Tagivale Schmidt-Peke, Hoeata Maxwell-Blake, Awatea Wihongi, Te Kaaterama Pou, Mereana Teka, Raniera Blake, Puawai Taiapa, Nathaniel Howe, and Tawaroa Kawana — performed by Maimoa


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a small contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!