click here for more
Artisan Awards 2020 Finalists Announced

Artisan Awards 2020 Finalists Announced

Chris Cudby / Image: The Beths 'I'm Not Getting Excited' video / Monday 28th September, 2020 12:15PM

Celebrating the less visible but no less crucial heroes of Aotearoa's music community, the finalists have been revealed for the 2020 Artisan Awards, as part of this year's Aotearoa Music Awards. Keeping safe and sensible during our uncertain Covid-19 era, the awards presentation will be pre-recorded at Massey University’s School of Music and Creative Media Production in Wellington and other key locations around nga motu, and broadcast on THREE at 11pm, Friday 13th November.

Amongst the notable names on this year's uber-talented shortlist is none other than UTR Assistant Editor Annabel Kean, recognised for her visually dazzling and internationally acclaimed video work with Callum Devlin (as Sports Team) for The Beths. Congratulations to all the finalists — while we keep lobbying for long overdue 'Best Poster Artwork' and 'Best Short News Story' categories here's the full rundown of who's in the running for 2020...

Te Kaiwhakaputa Toa | Massey University Best Producer

Brad Kora – L.A.B III (L.A.B)
CHAII & Frank Keys – Lightswitch (CHAII)
Josh Fountain

Te Kaipukaha Toa | Best Engineer

Lee Prebble – Manawa Wera (Ria Hall)
Lee Prebble & Ara Adams-Tamatea – L.A.B III (L.A.B)
Simon Gooding – Reb Fountain (Reb Fountain)

Te Puoro Ataata Toa | NZ On Air Best Music Video

AnaheraParata – ‘Bunga’ (SWIDT)
Callum Devlin & Annabel Kean – ‘I'm Not Getting Excited’ (The Beths)
Connor Pritchard – ‘All Your Ships Have Sailed’ (Troy Kingi)

Te Toi Ataata Pukaemi Toa | Best Album Artwork

Karin Canzek - Reb Fountain (Reb Fountain)
Lily Paris West – Look Me In The Eye (Mermaidens)
Mike Braid - The Brightest Flame (Jeremy Redmore)

Kaiwhakahaere Puoro o te Tau | Recorded Music NZ Manager of the Year

Dan Woolston (Richmond Music) - Montell2099, MELODOWNZ, SACHI, SmokeyGotBeatz, Trey Bond
Nicole Thomas & Paula Yeoman (NicNak Media Ltd) - Theia, Chores, Paige, Abby Wolfe, & Neko
Paul McKessar (CRS Management) - BENEE

Check out Callum Devlin and Annabel Kean's mind-melting video for ‘I'm Not Getting Excited’ by The Beths...

Experience AnaheraParata's groundbreaking video for Swidt's 'BUNGA'...

Watch Connor Pritchard's cinematic clip for Troy Kingi's 'All Your Ships Have Sailed'...


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!