click here for more
Ōtepoti's Die Musikband Announce South Island Tour

Ōtepoti's Die Musikband Announce South Island Tour

A.K. / Tuesday 10th November, 2020 11:13AM

Ōtepoti four-piece Die Musikband, said 'Dee Moo-seek-band', take on the South Island this summer for three groove-laden nights of krautrock. Fronted by Jeff Harford of fledgling Flying Nun era group Bored Games, Die Musikband have a wicked five-track EP Erste Musik in their arsenal, as well as Harford's Broken Heart Breakers bandmate John Guy Howell, Onanon's Karen McLean, and Alex Gilks on keys. The band promise an evening of pulsing synth-rock jams and grooves, "some with round edges and others with jagged bits", whether you stop by in Dunedin, Oamaru or Ōtautahi. DJ Lazy T brings the party North of Dunedin, providing rare funk and soul tracks into the night, and Anita Clark's haunting solo project Motte joins the bill in Christchurch. Familiarise yourself with the joyous instrumentals of Die Musikband and lock in your spot - attendees are in for a treat...

Die Musikband
Friday 4th December - The Crown, Dunedin w/ Tough Guy, Haszari
Friday 11th December - Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru w/ DJ Lazy-T
Saturday 12th December - Space Academy, Christchurch w/ Motte, DJ Lazy-T

Tickets on sale HERE via UTR

An aluminium alien has a boogie and finds some precious treasure in the visuals for 'The Mekon'...

Press Release:

Elements of the kind of melodic and sonic playfulness of Kraftwerk and Harmonia with a bit of Dunedin wild yeast. - Pop Lib

Dunedin sonic-krautrock four-piece Die Musikband (pronounced ‘Dee Moo-seek-band’), invite you to lose yourself in motorik grooves and pulsing synth-rock jams.

Experience for yourself the dance-inducing instrumentals that have been luring in punters to legendary Dunners night spots The Crown, The Cook and Bark. (Note: If standing at the back nursing a pint is more your style, that works too).

Die Musikband bring some history to the table - from early Flying Nun-era legends to contemporary recording and touring acts. Drummer Jeff Harford (Bored Games, The Rip, My Deviant Daughter, The Broken Heartbreakers) is joined by guitarist John Guy Howell (Salon Kingsadore, The Broken Heartbreakers), bassist Karen McLean (Onanon) and synth player Alex Gilks.

Debut 5-track E.P. Erste Musik, available now as a free download from Bandcamp, is a tasty sampler of Die Musikband’s oeuvre. The recordings were engineered by Operation Rolling Thunder’s Rob Falconer and mixed by Howell.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. Any small amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR

Die Musikband w/ Tough Guy And Haszari
Fri 4th Dec
The Crown Hotel, Dunedin
Die Musikband w/ DJ Lazy-T - Cancelled
Fri 11th Dec
Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru
Die Musikband w/ Motte And DJ Lazy T
Sat 12th Dec
Space Academy, Christchurch