click here for more
Aldous Harding Covers Deerhunter On 4AD Compilation 'Bills & Aches & Blues'

Aldous Harding Covers Deerhunter On 4AD Compilation 'Bills & Aches & Blues'

Annabel Kean / Thursday 11th March, 2021 11:26AM

Present and prior label home to the likes of Cocteau Twins, The National, Deerhunter, Pixies, Grimes, Bon Iver and many more iconic alternative acts, 4AD turned 40 last year and have just got around to celebrating now. To mark four decades since they launched, the UK label asked their current roster to cover a song of their choice by an artist of 4AD past, and compiled the tracks into Bills & Aches & Blues. Aotearoa's own Aldous Harding features on part one of the compilation with her take on Deerhunter's 'Revival' from their 2010 album Halcyon Digest. Harding's rendition arrives with four other brilliant covers out today: Tkay Maidza delivers a buzzy, electronic-tinged version of Pixies' 'Where Is My Mind?', U.S. Girls' picked 'Junkyard' by The Birthday Party, The Breeders reimagine The Dirt Eaters' 'His Name Is Alive', and Maria Somerville creates an even mellower version of Air Miami track 'Seabird'. Aldous Harding works her dance-folk magic on 'Revival', and is just one of 18 red hot reasons to purchase your copy of Bills & Aches & Blues.

For the first year of its rollout, profits from the compilation are going to The Harmony Project, an LA-based school programme to help kids access arts and music education...

Bills & Aches & Blues tracklist:

Side 1
1 Tkay Maidza - Where Is My Mind? (Pixies)
2 U.S. Girls - Junkyard (The Birthday Party)
3 Aldous Harding - Revival (Deerhunter)
4 The Breeders - Dirt Eaters (His Name Is Alive)
5 Maria Somerville - Seabird (Air Miami)

Side 2
6 Tune-Yards - Cannonball (The Breeders)
7 Spencer. - Genesis (Grimes)
8 Helado Negro - Futurism (Deerhunter)
9 Efterklang - Postal (Piano Magic)
10 Bing and Ruth - Gigantic (Pixies)

Side 3
11 Future Islands - The Moon Is Blue (Colourbox)
12 Jenny Hval - Sunbathing (Lush)
13 Dry Cleaning - Oblivion (Grimes)
14 Bradford Cox - Mountain Battles (Breeders)

Side 4
15 SOHN - Song To The Siren (Tim Buckley)
16 Becky and The Birds - The Wolves Act I and II (Bon Iver)
17 Ex:Re - Misery Is a Butterfly (Blonde Redhead)
18 Big Thief - Off You (The Breeders)

'Bills & Aches & Blues' is out Friday 2nd April digitally, and physically Friday 23rd July.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!