click here for more
Grawlixes Share New Album 'Love You To Death'

Grawlixes Share New Album 'Love You To Death'

Annabel Kean / Thursday 15th July, 2021 11:21AM

On Grawlixes' sophomore album Love You To Death, out today, Pōneke songwriting duo Penelope Esplin (French For Rabbits, Lake South) and Robin Cederman (Tahu & The Takahes, Prophet Hens) take it in turns belting out eleven monumental folk tracks. Their second album, the first being 2017's gorgeous home-recorded debut Set Free, takes the Grawlixes voice and epic instrumentation to a new level, recorded with Lee Prebble, mixed by Tom Healy and mastered by Paul Gold (Sufjan Stevens, Grizzly Bear) with contributions from a wealth of homegrown musicians; strings maestro Alex Vaatstra, French For Rabbits' Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa and Ben Lemi (Trinity Roots, Dawn Diver), trumpet from James Guilford and Jake Baxendale on woodwinds.

Cederman reflected on how his songwriting gave away more of himself than intended on single 'Dalliance':

"My tendency back then was to avoid writing directly about my own feelings, so for the verses I made up a story about a somewhat-doomed relationship between two young women. One woman is a charming runner who ‘still rolls her r’s as a point of pride, and the other is a bit fixated on the past and uses words like ‘interminable’. Looking back now I think these characters broadly represent Penelope, who was a semi-professional athlete growing up, and myself, who was going through a reading phase and fancied my vocabulary at the time."

Currently ruling the top of the SRN charts, Grawlixes begin their Love You To Death album release tour next week, zig-zagging up and down the country with support spots from Adam Hattaway & The Haunters, Looking For Alaska, Albi & The Wolves and more. Snap up a ticket below, and hit play on Love You To Death...


Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour

Thursday 22nd July - The Boathouse, Nelson w/ Emily Riordan
Friday 23rd July - Tim's Place, Marahau w/ Emily Riordan
Saturday 24th July - Mussel Inn, Takaka
Thursday 12th August - Meow, Wellington w/ Violet Hirst, Vatican't
Saturday 14th August - The Stomach, Palmerston North w/ Rusty Frames
Sunday 15th August - Common Room, Hastings
Thursday 19th August - Wunderbar, Christchurch W/ Adam Hattaway & The Haunters
Friday 20th August - Dive, Dunedin w/ Julian Temple Band
Saturday 21st August - Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru
Thursday 26th August - The Jam Factory, Tauranga w/ Stellarize
Friday 27th August - Nivara Lounge, Hamilton w/ Brandan De La Cruz, Looking For Alaska
Saturday 28th August - Wine Cellar, Auckland w/ Albi & The Wolves

Tickets for all shows (except Mussel Inn, The Jam Factory and Meow) available HERE via UTR


Grawlixes' sophomore album 'Love You To Death' is out today via Home Alone Records.

Links
facebook.com/grawlixesband
thegrawlixes.com/
grawlixesnz.bandcamp.com/

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  


You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a small contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!

Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Thu 12th Aug
Meow, Wellington
Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Buy
Sat 14th Aug
The Stomach, Palmerston North
Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Buy
Sun 15th Aug
Common Room, Hastings
Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Buy
Thu 19th Aug
Wunderbar, Christchurch
Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Buy
Fri 20th Aug
Dive, Dunedin
Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Buy
Sat 21st Aug
Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru
Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Thu 26th Aug
Jam Factory, Tauranga
Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Buy
Fri 27th Aug
Nivara Lounge, Hamilton
Grawlixes 'Love You To Death' Album Release Tour
Buy
Sat 28th Aug
The Wine Cellar, Auckland