click here for more
Y$O Unveil Debut Album 'Young & $lept On'

Y$O Unveil Debut Album 'Young & $lept On'

Annabel Kean / Tuesday 28th September, 2021 3:37PM

It's hard to believe we're only now hearing the official debut album from fast rising Tāmaki Makaurau collective Y$O, as the all star crew of Sam V, EDY, JARNA, Creationkit, Aidan Fine and Broke Boi Ace have been cropping up on local features, collaborations and billings non-stop since early 2020. Each artist brings massive talent to the Y$O table, from JARNA's mind-blowing vocal magic, to the production prowess of EDY, making for a genre-spanning single roll-out with tracks 'MIA', 'COTTON CANDY' and 'LIMELIGHT' hitting rap, soul and early '00s RnB sweet spots ahead of the full Young & $lept On drop. Like all my favourite hip hop albums, Y$O dust their debut with delightful interludes, with mini tracks 'MURDER' and 'THEFT' highlighting JARNA and Sam V's velvety vocals before the latter morphs into a tongue-in-cheek skit, with each brief break giving the listening a moment to absorb the last song before barrelling into the next pop gem. Get to know the Y$O six on their brand new self-titled collection...

Y$O's debut album 'Young & $lept On' is out now on major streaming services.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!