click here for more
click here for more
Die! Die! Die! Share New Album 'This Is Not An Island Anymore'

Die! Die! Die! Share New Album 'This Is Not An Island Anymore'

Chris Cudby / Friday 18th February, 2022 10:06AM

Synonymous in their early days with scathingly personal punk anthems, Die! Die! Die!'s outrage surveys broader and more ambitious territory on their seventh studio album This Is Not An Island Anymore. Founding fathers guitarist / singer Andrew Wilson and drummer Michael Prain with long term bassist Lachlan Anderson sound like a tumble dryer full of Steelo pads on the title track opener, locked in and furiously focussed throughout the record's nine noise-drenched tracks — with sonically free-form interlude 'Takaparawhau' providing space to breathe before the next intense barrage of guitars / drums and piercing yells. Which isn't to say there isn't room for inventiveness on This Is Not An Island Anymore, finding the trio mainly jettisoning melodic impulses this time around for interlocking, stuttering AmRep heavy grooves, buzzsaw guitars and no wave squalls, even incorporating wild sax (on 'Never Tire Looking At The Sun'), spoken word and shortwave radio bursts into their cacophonous aural palette — listen below...

"This album is really special to all of us. We started this journey when Lachlan rejoined the band in 2018, and I feel this record ties up a lot of loose ends.

This is the best reflection of the band and our most honest record". — Andrew Wilson

'This Is Not An Island Anymore' is out today digitally, and on CD, cassette and vinyl.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!