click here for more
click here for more
Aotearoa Music Awards Finalists 2022 Announced

Aotearoa Music Awards Finalists 2022 Announced

Chris Cudby / Thursday 6th October, 2022 8:42AM

The all-star list of finalists has been revealed for industry celebration the Aotearoa Music Awards | Ngā Tohu Puoro o Aotearoa, to be presented on 10th November. Artists racking up the nominations in 2022 include Rob Ruha (in the running for six Tūī's), Ruha's collaborators on smash hit '35' tira waiata Ka Hao (nominated for five Tūīs), works by and featuring Troy Kingi are up for four Tūīs — under his own name and using the pseudonym P. Smith, plus he's already won the Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Folk Artist award — L.A.B, Tami Neilson, Reb Fountain, and of course Devonport's international pop star Lorde.

Recent names featured on our site on this year's longlist include power pop darlings The Beths, Marlon Williams, Alien Weaponry, Fat Freddy's Drop, Georgia Lines, Jordan Rakei, There's a Tuesday, CHAII, Christoph El Truento and Lucky Lance, BENEE, choicevaughanDiggy Dupé, Jenny MitchellJulien Dyne, Leaping Tiger, Shihad, Sit Down In Front, Al Fraser, NZTrioMyele Manzanza, Chelsea Jade, Aldous Harding and more. 2022's Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa | Best Alternative Artist nominees are the top notch trio of Ben Woods, TE KAAHU and Vera Ellen — scroll down for today's full list...

“From pop through to classical, electronic, hip hop and soul, there’s so much diversity in the music being created and it’s great to see our recording artists taking charge of their own creativity and pushing boundaries.

With many of our finalists also first-time nominees it is heartening to see the new generation coming through. The music of Aotearoa is such a valuable part of who we are, and we wouldn’t be the same without it.” — Recorded Music New Zealand Kaiwhakahaere o Ngā Tohu Puoro o Aotearoa Sarah Owen

AMA 2022 Finalists (by category):

1. Recorded Music NZ Te Pukaemi o te Tau | Album of the Year

Aldous Harding – Warm Chris
L.A.B – L.A.B V
Lorde – Solar Power
Reb Fountain – IRIS
Rob Ruha – Preservation of Scenery
Tami Neilson – Kingmaker

2. Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau | Single of the Year

Ka Hao – ‘35’ (ft. Rob Ruha)
L.A.B – ‘Mr Reggae’
Marlon Williams – ‘My Boy’
Reb Fountain – ‘Lacuna’
Rob Ruha – ‘That's Where I'll Be’
The Beths – ‘Silence is Golden’

3. Te Roopu Toa | Best Group

Alien Weaponry – Tangaroa
Fat Freddy's Drop – WAIRUNGA
Ka Hao – Ka Hao: One Tira, One Voice
L.A.B – L.A.B V

4. Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa | Best Solo Artist

Lorde – Solar Power
Reb Fountain – IRIS
Rob Ruha – Preservation of Scenery
Tami Neilson – Kingmaker

5. Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau | Breakthrough Artist of the Year

COTERIE – ‘Cool it Down’
Georgia Lines – Human
Jordan Rakei – What We Call Life
There's a Tuesday – Boy Scout

6. Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Award

Ka Hao – ‘35’ (ft Rob Ruha)
Rob Ruha – Preservation of Scenery
Troy Kingi – Pū Whenua Hautapu, Eka Mumura

7. Te Māngai Pāho Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa | Best Māori Artist

Ka Hao – Ka Hao: One Tira, One Voice
Rob Ruha – Preservation of Scenery
Stan Walker – Te Arohanui

8. Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa | Best Pop Artist

BENEE – Lychee
Georgia Lines – Human
Lorde – Solar Power

9. Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa | Best Alternative Artist

Ben Woods – Dispeller
Te Kaahu – Te Kaahu O Rangi
Vera Ellen – It's Your Birthday

10. Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa | Best Soul/RnB Artist

Jackson Owens – For The Better EP
Jordan Rakei – What We Call Life
Rob Ruha – Preservation of Scenery

11. Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa | Best Hip Hop Artist

CHAII – Pineapple Pizza
Christoph El Truento and Lucky Lance – The 25th January Tape
Diggy Dupé, choicevaughan and P. Smith – The Panthers OST

12. Te Kaipuoro Tuawhenua Toa | Best Country Music Artist

Jenny Mitchell – Tug of War
Kaylee Bell – Silver Linings
Tami Neilson – Kingmaker

13. Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Roots Artist

Ka Hao – Ka Hao: One Tira, One Voice
L.A.B. – L.A.B V
The Black Seeds – Love & Fire

14. Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa | Best Electronic Artist

Julien Dyne – MODES
TALI – Future Dwellers

15. Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa | Best Rock Artist

Alien Weaponry – Tangaroa
Shihad – Old Gods
Sit Down In Front – Fuelling My Rage

16. Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa | Best Classical Artist

Bridget Douglas and Al Fraser – Silver Stone Wood Bone
NZTrio – Merge
Robert Ashworth & Sarah Watkins – Moonstone

17. Te Kōwhiri o te Nuinga | People’s Choice Award

18. Te Toa Hoko Teitei | Highest Selling Artist

19. Te Rikoata Marakerake o te Tau | NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year

2022 Artisan Award Finalists:

20. Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa | Best Album Artwork

Barny Bewick & Lewis de Jong – Tangaroa (Alien Weaponry)
Chelsea Jade Metcalf – Soft Spot (Chelsea Jade)
Maria Francesca Melis – Kingmaker (Tami Neilson)

21. Massey University Te Kaiwhakaputa Toa | Best Producer

CHAII, Frank Keys, Rory Noble – Pineapple Pizza (CHAII)
choicevaughan, Diggy Dupé & P Smith – The Panthers OST (Diggy Dupé choicevaughan, & P Smith)
Tami Neilson – Kingmaker (Tami Neilson)

22. Te Kaipukaha Toa | Best Engineer

Dr Lee Prebble and Ara Adams-Tamatea – L.A.B V (L.A.B)
Simon Gooding – IRIS (Reb Fountain)
Simon Gooding – Kingmaker (Tami Neilson)

23. NZ On Air Te Kiko Puoro Ataata Toa | Best Music Video Content

Alyx Duncan – ‘Kingmaker’ (Tami Neilson)
Joel Kefali and Ella Yelich-O’Connor – ‘Secrets from a Girl’ (Who’s Seen It All) (Lorde)
Nicole Horan, Marara Katipa, Dahnu Graham, Hayden Aull, Thomas Rose, Huhana Ruri-Panapa, Xavier Horan – ‘Black Sea Golden Ladder: The Visual Album’ (Troy Kingi)

Additional Tūī awards presented in 2022:

24. Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Folk Artist
Winner: Troy Kingi – Black Sea Golden Ladder

25. Recorded Music Te Pukaemi Toa o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa | Best Pacific Music Album

Winner: Tomorrow People – 21

26. Recorded Music NZ Te Kaipuoro Tautito Toa | Best Jazz Artist

Winner: Myele Manzanza – Crisis & Opportunity Vol.1

27. Te Kaipuoro Waiata Tamariki Toa | Best Children’s Artist
Winner: Music With Michal – ‘Summer Days’


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!