click here for more
click here for more
IMNZ Classic Record and Outstanding Music Journalism Award Finalists Announced

IMNZ Classic Record and Outstanding Music Journalism Award Finalists Announced

Chris Cudby / Image: micronism / Thursday 23rd March, 2023 9:20AM

Independent Music NZ have announced this year's recipient of the Classic Record award is micronism's pioneering 1998 electronic album inside a quiet mind (Kog Transmissions), revealed this morning along with the finalists for the NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award. Both accolades will be presented as part of the 2023 Taite Music Prize ceremony on Tuesday 18th April alongside the main prize, the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award and the Independent Spirit Award.

The project of Denver McCarthy (aka Mechanism), micronism's inside a quiet mind is widely hailed as a masterwork of Aotearoa electronica / techno, created from 1996 to 1998 using "outboard equipment and without computer assistance". Initially released on compact disc, the album was reissued on vinyl for the first time in 2017 and will receive a forthcoming repress via Loop in celebration of the Classic Record award. The Taite Music Prize presentation ceremony will be preceded by micronism's first headline show in over 20 years, announced for Tāmaki Makaurau's Neck Of The Woods on 15th April. The Classic Record is a "critically judged award for originality considering the artistic merit, creativity, innovation and excellence of an album in its entirety irrespective of album sales, artist popularity, previous awards or international achievements".

“This acknowledgment of my small contribution to NZ music is wildly misplaced — so it is received with great shock and even greater humility and gratitude. Looking forward to trying to fire up the machines once again, to journey into the land of Electronica, forgive me if I take a few wrong has been a while...” — Denver McCarthy

We're also stoked to share the news UTR's Chris Cudby is among this year's finalists for the NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award, alongside AudioCulture feature writer Gareth Shute (read his reportage on WOMAD NZ 2023 for UTR HERE), Jess Fu and Amanda Jane Robinson for Amplified, and Namnita Kumar and Nadia Freeman's Eastern Sound Stories Podcast. Begun in 2022 (when our team was also nominated), the award "celebrates special individuals who made a creative contribution and significant impact with coverage of Aotearoa music in the previous year", shortlisted by a selection of industry experts and coming with a $2500 cash prize.

The finalists for the NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award are:

Gareth Shute - AudioCulture - Feature Writer
Jess Fu & Amanda Jane Robinson - Amplified
Chris Cudby - UnderTheRadar - Music News
Namnita Kumar & Nadia Freeman - Eastern Sound Stories Podcast produced by Eastern Sound Collective in conjunction with Radio Active.FM

Listen to micronism's inside a quiet mind...


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!