click here for more
click here for more
2024 Pacific Music Awards Finalists Announced

2024 Pacific Music Awards Finalists Announced

Chris Cudby / Image: Shepherds Reign / Wednesday 10th July, 2024 2:43PM

The finalists have been announced for the 2024 Pacific Music Awards, which marks its 20th anniversary this year — honouring twenty years of Pacific excellence with an awards presentation on 29th August, at Due Drop Events Centre in Manukau. At the forefront of this year's finalists are Shepherds Reign with nominations across six categories, Aaradhna with nominations in five categories and Diggy Dupé, finalist for four awards. The SunPix People’s Choice Award is now open for public voting (all artists nominated for the 2024 Pacific Music Awards are eligible) — have your say by casting your vote on the Pacific Music Awards website HERE before 9th August and listen up to the playlist of finalists below

"Pacific Music navigates 20 years. Pacific Music Awards Faka'apa'apa and Fakamanatu Tongan language meaning honour and celebrate, Fa'amamalu and Fa'amamanatu Samoan language meaning honour and celebrate, Whakamanawa and Hakaritia in Te Reo Māori means honouring and celebrating 20 years of Pacific Music Awards that honours Pasifika families, communities and nations acknowledging our Musika contributions locally to globally internationally from humble small Pacific nations but from the largest Ocean in the world. Atua, Tupuaga, and Tupuna have blessed our Pasifika musical navigation of Excellence and love for our people, our nations, and Atua. Faka'apa'apa Fakamanatu Tonga, Fa'amamalu Fa'amanatu Samoa and Whakamanawa, Hakaritia Te Reo Maori to honour and celebrate."
- Pacific Music Awards Trust spokesperson Rev Mua Strickson-Pua

2024 Pacific Music Awards finalists:

Auckland Council Best Pacific Female Artist

Aaradhna - ‘She’
Elena - ‘Ur Vibe’
Jordyn with a Why - ‘Set Go | Seen Tonight’
Olivia Foa'i - Tūmau Pea

NZ Music Commission Best Pacific Male Artist

Diggy Dupé - ‘We The City’
Kings - Dad's Son
lilbubblegum - ’Hourglass’, ‘Rickys’, ‘Mudboy’, ‘Pack-a-Punch’
Sam V - You Left Your Things Here (LP)

Flava Best Pacific Group

A.R.T. - ‘WTF Man’
Shepherds Reign - Ala Mai
SWIDT - ’YOUPHORIA feat HIGH HOOPS’, ‘Burn One Feat Stallyano’, ‘Hocus Pocus’, ‘Not 4 Sale’

SunPix Best Pacific Language

Shepherds Reign - Ala Mai
Signature Choir - Mana Moana
Olivia Foa'i - Tūmau Pea

531pi Best Pacific Gospel Artist

Junior Soqeta - ‘Fiji Forever'(feat Pauliasi)', 'Just You & Me (feat JSQZE)'
Signature Choir - Mana Moana
TONE6 - ‘Close Your Eyes’

Matai Best Pacific Hip Hop Artist

Diggy Dupé - ‘We The City’
SWIDT - ’YOUPHORIA feat HIGH HOOPS’, ‘Burn One Feat Stallyano’, ‘Hocus Pocus’, ‘Not 4 Sale’
Tha Movement - Cut From a Different Cloth

Pacificast Best Pacific Soul/RnB Artist

Aaradhna - ‘She’
ELENA - ‘Ur Vibe’
Sam V - You Left Your Things Here (LP)

Best Pacific Roots/Reggae Artist

Folau - 'Upē 'O Siu'ilikutapu’
Shane Walker - ‘Tahine Tonga’, ‘Mrs Walker’, ‘Come Back Darling’, ‘Cigah’
Stanley T - ’Fallin’, ‘Island Girl’, ‘Honestly’, ‘Lockdown’ Unity Pacific - ‘Integrity’

NZ On Air Best Pacific Music Video

Aaradhna - ‘She’, director: Anahera Parata
Diggy Dupe - ‘We The City’, director: Tom Grut
EMA I'U - ‘Flower of Life’, director: Francis Baker
Pat - ’What Do I Do feat Dizzy Dash & Sven Illy’, director: Danny Aumua
Shepherds Reign - ’Nafanua’, director: Dave Thomson
Tha Movement - ’Tin City feat. Sid Diamond’, director: Robert George

MPGNZ/SAE Creative Media Institute Best Producer

Aaradhna - ‘She’ (Aaradhna)
Haz Beats - Brunette EP (Haz & Miloux) ‘Run It Back’ (Home Brew)
Kings - Dad's Son (Kings)
Oliver Leupolu - Ala Mai (Shepherds Reign)

APRA Best Pacific Song

Aaradhna - ‘She’, writer: Aaradhna Patel
A.R.T. - ‘WTF Man’, writers: Anastasia Sirila, Roseta Lopa, Tiresa Foma'i, Avina Kelekolio, Edward Liu, Jeremiah Fale
Diggy Dupé - ‘We The City’, writer: Stephen Atutolu
Shepherds Reign - ‘Ua Masa'a’, writers: Filiva'a James, Oliver Leupolu, Shaymen Rameka, Gideon Voon, Joseph Oti-George
SWIDT - ‘YOUPHORIA feat HIGH HOOPS’, writers: Taniela Latu, Amon McGoram, Jordan Arts
Teo Glacier - ‘Close With Desires (feat. Thuy)’, writers: Eden Betham, Rory Noble, Thuy Tran

NIU FM Best International Pacific Artist

Jaro Local - ‘Olbaut Olbaut’, ‘Wani Eh’, ‘Kativa’
Josh Tatofi - 'Ouana’, ‘Why Worry’, ‘Storms Never Last’, ‘Fakateretere’, ‘I Jus Want Ya’, ‘I'm Gonna Love You’, ‘Tears On My Pillow’
Kennyon Brown, Donell Lewis, DJ Noiz - ‘Island Girl’
Mr Cowboy - ‘OB-LA-DI, OB-LA-DA’

Recorded Music NZ Te Pukaemi Toa o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa Best Pacific Music Album

Kings - Dad's Son
Olivia Foa’i - Tūmau Pea
Sam V - You Left Your Things Here
Shepherds Reign - Ala Mai
Signature Choir - Mana Moana


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!