click here for more
The Gordons Win ‘Independent Music NZ Classic Record’ Award

The Gordons Win ‘Independent Music NZ Classic Record’ Award

Thursday 11th April, 2013 2:37PM

Independent Music New Zealand have announced a new award to be associated with the annual Taite Music Prize which is to be awarded next week. While the Taite Music Prize concerns itself with newly released albums,  the new ‘Independent Music NZ Classic Record’ award looks back at historically important independent releases with The Gordons debut self-titled album taking out the first award.

The Gordons emerged out of Christchurch in 1980 and released the album in 1981 - following up their debut EP Future Shock released that same year and included with the 2002 reissue of the album by Flying Nun.  Band members Alister Parker, John Halvorsen and Brent McLachlan went on to form Bailterspace who played Laneway Festival and a couple of headline shows (which included Gordons' material) at the start of the year.

Here is the opening track from the album 'Coal Miners Song' and lets hope the honour inspires a vinyl reissue (wink wink Flying Nun/Captured Tracks...):

Press Release:

The Taite Music Prize: announcing the inaugural ‘Independent Music NZ Classic Record’ award

IMNZ is proud to announce a new award to be presented at this year’s Taite Music Prize 2013 event. The ceremony is to include the ‘Independent Music NZ Classic Record’, which is a new award that aims to acknowledge New Zealand’s rich history of making fine albums that continue to inspire us and that also define who we are.

The panel to determine the recipient of this new award was made up of a broad section of music media/industry specialists, who have given the nod in 2013 to the GORDONS – ‘GORDONS’ album as one of NZ’s classic records. The award is scheduled to be presented by Shayne Carter and will be accepted by band member John Halvorsen.

When told of the news this week, John Halvorsen said: “I’m shocked. I feel grateful to be acknowledged after all these years by the industry – it’s our first ever award. I’m humbled and grateful.”

Talking about the first ‘Independent Music NZ Classic Record’ recipient, finalist judge Grant Smithies said: “…this first Gordons record remains unsurpassed for its nasty beauty, its ice-cold pessimism and white-hot intensity.” – Grant Smithies, Soundtracks: 118 Great New Zealand Albums (2007)


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2018 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here