click here for more
click here for more
APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2009 - Top 20 NZ Songs

APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2009 - Top 20 NZ Songs

Thursday 16th July, 2009 12:00PM

Presented since 1965 the APRA Silver Scroll Award is New Zealand’s pre-eminent songwriting award; and as an event, it is a highly anticipated evening of unique collaborations and performances.

For the first time in the awards history – the APRA Silver Scroll Awards are to be held in Christchurch. This invite only event will be held on Thursday 17 September in Christchurch’s glorious Town Hall.

APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association) are proud to announce the top 20 songs in line for New Zealand’s most prestigious songwriting award.

Song TitleWriter/Composer(s) & PublisherPerformed by

Apple Pie Bed - James Milne & Luke Buda Mushroom Music - Lawrence Arabia

Closer To Home - Oliver Gordon, Nick Major, Michael Carpinter, Stephen Small & Jasper De Roos - Autozamm

Dancing On The Moon - Phil Madsen - Phil Madsen

Degrees Of Existence - Shayne Carter - Dimmer

Everything - Peter Wadams, Sam Hansen & Vince Harder Standard Music - P-Money feat. Vince Harder

Hey Boys And Girls - Dann Hume & Jon Hume Second Pressing - Evermore

Howling At The Moon - Dave Dobbyn - Dave Dobbyn

I Can't Stop Being Foolish - Kody Nielson & Ruban Nielson Mushroom Music - The Mint Chicks

Island - Jess Chambers - Jess Chambers

January's Well - Reb Fountain - Reb Fountain

Lotaluv - Jamie Greenslade - Maitreya

Louder Louder - Dave Gibson & Justyn Pilbrow Mushroom Music - Elemeno P

Mr Mista - David Atai, Te Awanui Reeder, Donald McNulty, Heath Manukau, Junior Rikiau, Feleti Strickson-Pua & Che Ness - Nesian Mystik

Oldest Trick In The Book - Eden Mulholland Mushroom Music - Motocade

On My Mind - James Christmas & Barry Palmer Mushroom Music - Luger Boa

Silences & Distances - Julia Deans, Andrew Bain & Simon Braxton Native Tongue Music Publishing - Fur Patrol

The Letter - Jeremy Redmore, Simon Oscroft, Matthew Warman, Aidan Bartlett & Nick Campbell - Midnight Youth

Turn Around - Andrew Spraggon & Iva Lamkum Native Tongue Music Publishing - Sola Rosa

Vampires - Matt Barus Native Tongue Music Publishing - Dukes

Wayho - Ruth Carr, Paul Dodge & Ryan Beehre Native Tongue Music Publishing - Minuit

An anonymous jury of APRA Members have convened the preliminary list above; it is now down to the 7,000+ New Zealand APRA Members – the nation’s songwriters and composers – to elect their 2009 songwriting champion. Peer voting for the winner of the APRA Silver Scroll is all about songwriters recognising the outstanding achievements of their cohorts and honouring the craft of songwriting. Attested by an obviously humbled Jason Kerrison – who along with, Bobby Kennedy, Matt Treacy & Clinton Harris wrote the 2008 APRA Silver Scroll winner ‘One Day’ – "I am really, truly honoured, particularly to be given this award from our peers. It is a privilege to be acknowledged at such an amazing night."

You can listen to the Top 20 and read each songs lyrics at – voting is now open for APRA Members via this website.

The APRA Silver Scroll Award is presented alongside the APRA Maioha Award and the SOUNZ Contemporary Award recognising outstanding compositions in both Maori and Classical music; nods to the Most Performed Works here and overseas; and another surprise induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame. The APRA Silver Scroll Awards recognise and celebrate the creative excellence of our songwriters & composers. APRA would not be able to bring the Awards to Christchurch without the support of the following partners: the Christchurch City Council, Vbase, CHART: Christchurch Music Industry Trust, PacificBlue & HotelSO. To learn more about the Silver Scroll Awards, including past winners and performances, please visit .

2009 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Christchurch Town Hall - Thursday 17 September

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!