click here for more
APRA Silver Scroll 2011 Top 20 Announced

APRA Silver Scroll 2011 Top 20 Announced

Thursday 14th July, 2011 9:45AM

The top 20 nominees for the 2011 APRA Silver Scroll award for songwriting excellence have been announced and see Neilson brothers Kody and Ruban up against each other along with a surprising amount of songs beginning with "little", here is the full list...

"Blanket" - Bachelorette
"Bright Idea" - Andrew Keoghan
"Celia" - Annah Mac
"Cold Feet" - Liam Finn
"Darkness All Around Us" - Kody and Bic
"Everyone's Asleep" - Clap Clap Riot
"Everything's Gonna Be Alright" - Mulholland
"FFunny FFrends" - Unknown Mortal Orchestra
"Google Song" - Gareth Thomas
"Grandma's Cookies" - Jesse Sheehan
"How Ye" - Die! Die! Die!
"Lead Us" - Katchafire
"Leaving" - Lisa Crawley
"Little Heart" - Delaney Davidson
"Little Islands" - Anna Coddington
"Little Survivor" - Julia Deans
"Love Love Love" - Avalanche City
"Nothing to Lose" - The Adults
"She Was A Mountainside" - Bannerman
"Singing Showers, Golden Lights" - Grand Rapids

You can see many of these acts out and about in the next few weeks - see below for listings.

From the Press Release:

Now in its 46th year, the APRA Silver Scroll Awards are a highlight on the nation’s music industry calendar. APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association) is proud to announce the Top 20 songs in line for New Zealand’s most prestigious songwriting award for 2011 (see above).

From Friday 15th July, you can listen to the Top 20 and read each song’s lyrics at – voting will be open for APRA Members via the website until Sunday 31st July.

An anonymous jury of APRA Members have convened the preliminary list above; it is now down to the 7,500+ New Zealand APRA Members – the nation’s songwriters and composers – to elect their 2011 songwriting champion. Peer voting for the winner of the APRA Silver Scroll is all about songwriters recognising the outstanding achievements of their cohorts and honouring the craft of songwriting.

“The arrival of new songs each year is a beautiful thing. This year’s songs have a particular youthfulness and independent spirit which perhaps illustrates New Zealand music today,” says Anthony Healey, Director of New Zealand Operations for APRA.M

Alongside the APRA Silver Scroll Award, presentations include the APRA Maioha Award and the SOUNZ Contemporary Award, recognising outstanding compositions in both Maori and Classical music, nods to the Most Performed Works here and overseas, and another surprise induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame.

This invite-only event will be held on Tuesday 13 September at the Auckland Town Hall. To learn more about the Silver Scroll Awards, including past winners and performances, please visit

2011 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Auckland Town Hall – Tuesday 13th September Voting Open Friday 15th July- Sunday 31st July via

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a small contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!

The Adults - July NZ Tour - Auckland (NEW SHOW)
Thu 21st Jul
Bacco Room, Auckland
Liam Finn - The FOMO Tour
Thu 4th Aug
Kings Arms Tavern, Auckland