click here for more
APRA Silver Scroll 2011 Finalists Announced

APRA Silver Scroll 2011 Finalists Announced

Thursday 4th August, 2011 9:39AM

The finalists for this years APRA Silver Scroll award have been announced. Whittled down to five from a shortlist of twenty announced last month by APRA members, the finalists are....

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - "FFunny FFrends":

Delaney Davidson - "Little Heart"

Bachelorette - "Blanket":

Avalanche City - "Love Love Love"

The Adults - "Nothing To Lose"

 Also announced were the finalists for APRA Maioha Award and SOUNZ Contemporary Award - see below.

Press Release:

After 2 weeks of intense voting from the 8,000+ APRA members, APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association) is proud to announce the finalists for New Zealand’s Silver Scroll Award, the most celebrated songwriting award for 2011:

‘Nothing to Lose’, written by Jon Toogood and Karoline Tamati, performed by The Adults

‘Blanket’, written by Annabel Alpers, performed by Bachelorette (Native Tongue Music Publishing)

‘Love Love Love’, written by Dave Baxter, performed by Avalanche City

‘Little Heart’, written and performed by Delaney Davidson

‘FFunny FFrends’, written by Ruban Nielson, performed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Mushroom Music)

Not only are the finalists chosen by their peers, their works will be performed by their peers. Under the tutelage of Music Director Karl Steven (Supergroove, The Drab Doo Riffs), unique renditions of each of the above songs will be performed at the invite only APRA Silver Scroll Awards on Tuesday 13th September at the Auckland Town Hall.

APRA are also excited to announce the finalists for the APRA Maioha Award and SOUNZ Contemporary Award.

Celebrating contemporary Maori music, the finalists for the APRA Maioha Award are:

‘E te Kōkā’, written and performed by Ngahiwi Apanui
‘Starship Lullaby’, written and performed by Tiki Taane
‘Ko Koe’, written and performed by Tyna Keelan

The finalists for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award – celebrating contemporary classical composition- are:

‘Concerto for Piano and Orchestra’, written by Lyell Cresswell
‘Gravitas’, written by Chris Gendall
‘Sillage’, written by Samuel Holloway

"As always it is our privilege to celebrate the best of New Zealand music in all its forms. Each of the finalists in every category exemplifies the wonderfully unique and diverse music made here every year. We should always treasure it", says Healey.

Also on the night, in recognition of the contribution music has made to New Zealand’s culture and heritage, there will be another induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame. Set up in 2007 with RIANZ, the 2011 inductee(s) will join the ranks of Ray Columbus & The Invaders, The Topp Twins, Johnny Devlin, Jordan Luck, Richard Nunns, Hirini Melbourne, Straitjacket Fits, Shihad and The Fourmyula.

2011 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Auckland Town Hall – Tuesday 13th September


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2019 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here