click here for more
Raggamuffin Adds UB40, Macy Gray, Xzibit, The Game and More To 2016 Line-Up

Raggamuffin Adds UB40, Macy Gray, Xzibit, The Game and More To 2016 Line-Up

Wednesday 14th October, 2015 9:31AM

The organisers of Raggamuffin have added a raft of impressive acts to the line-up for the 2016 festival. The nine names now on the bill are UB40, Macy Gray, Xzibit, The Game, Beenie Man, Bitty McLean, House Of Pain featuring Everlast, Savage and the Aotearoa Reggae Collective. These impressive acts join already announced line-up that includes Eddy Grant, Maxi Priest and Inner Circle. However, the announcement comes with the news that CeeLo Green will no longer be attending the annual event. Here are the details..

Saturday 20th February 2016, The Trusts Arena, Auckland

Featuring... UB40, The Game, Macy Gray, Eddy Grant, Xzibit, Beenie Man, Sly & Robbie With Bitty Mclean, Inner Circle, House Of Pain Ft Everlast, Maxi Priest, Jnr Marvin’s Wailers, Savage, Boo-yaa T.R.I.B.E, Spawnbreezie, Aotearoa Reggae Collective (Majic / L-40 / Israel Starr), L.A.B, Raggamuffin Reggae & Urban Competition Winners

Here is the video for Macy Gray's single 'I Try'...

Here's Xzibit with 'Get Your Walk On'...

And here is The Game featuring Drake with '100'...




* Two Stages / Expanded Village
* Saturday 20 February 2016
* Family Friendly Event

Nine new acts have been added to the line-up for Raggamuffin IX, making the February 2016 event one of the biggest reggae and urban line-ups seen in New Zealand.

UB40, The Game, Macy Gray, and Xzibit join Eddy Grant as headline acts for Raggamuffin IX at The Trusts Arena in Auckland on Saturday 20 February 2016.

Other new acts added to the line-up include Beenie Man, House of Pain featuring Everlast, Savage, Aotearoa Reggae Collection (Majic / L-40 / Israel Starr), and L.A.B. Bitty McLean will join Sly & Robbie, and acts already announced are Inner Circle, Maxi Priest, Junior Marvin’s Wailers, Spawnbreezie and Boo Yaa T.R.I.B.E. Unfortunately CeeLo Green is no longer available to perform in Auckland at Raggamuffin IX.

Two additional acts will be added to the line-up. A competition to find two local opening acts – one reggae and one urban – will be held in November 2015 with heats in Auckland, Palmerston North, Hastings, Masterton and Wellington. The final will take place on Saturday 12 December in Wellington.

This is the second year Raggamuffin has been held in Auckland and this year the Festival will feature two stages providing non-stop music all day and into the night, plus an expanded village with more variety and amusement rides.

Raggamuffin is the largest reggae and urban festival in the Southern Hemisphere and spokesperson Brotha D (Danny Leaosavai'i) says the 2016 event will be the biggest yet with a huge line-up and plenty of entertainment for everyone.

“We’ve introduced family passes because we’re keen to see everyone coming along to have a great time, plus children under 14 will be free when accompanied by an adult ticketholder, and we’ve introduced a special youth ticket for young people aged 14 to 17.”

Legendary reggae band UB40 have long been a firm favourite with Raggamuffin fans and the 2016 Festival will see the return of the band. With more than 40 UK Top 40 hit singles and album sales topping 100 million worldwide, UB40 is one of the most successful British groups of all time. Fronted by Duncan Campbell with his brother Robin Campbell (guitar), UB40 also features original members Jimmy Brown (drums), Earl Falconer (bass), Norman Hassan (percussion) and Brian Travers (saxophone and keyboards).

Grammy Award winning singer Macy Gray with her R’n’B/soul style, multiple Grammy Award winner The Game and rapper and actor Xzibit bring a strong line-up for the urban stage.

Joining the line-up on the reggae stage is Grammy Award winner and ‘King of the Dancehall’, Jamaica’s Beenie Man, while British/Jamaican reggae singer Bitty McLean will feature with Sly & Robbie, along with Aotearoa Reggae Collective (Majic / L-40 / Israel Starr) and L.A.B, featuring Brad Kora.

Also announced for the urban stage are rappers House of Pain ft Everlast, best known for their 1992 hit ‘Jump Around’, and platinum-selling hip hop artist Savage.

Raggamuffin IX is supporting the Raukatauri Music Therapy Trust as its chosen charity for the 2016 event. The Trust is an organisation which provides music therapy to special needs children and a percentage from every ticket sold goes towards the charity.

Additionally, Sly & Robbie with Bitty McLean support Doctors Without Borders / Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF), a charity that sends doctors in zones where there is a shortage of medical care.

Tickets for Raggamuffin IX are on sale now and include VIP tickets, Grandstand tickets, GA tickets, Family passes and Youth tickets. Tickets are available through Ticketmaster 0800 111 999 and Red Rat clothing stores.


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2018 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here