click here for more
Marlon Williams Wins Best Music Video At 2018 Artisan Awards

Marlon Williams Wins Best Music Video At 2018 Artisan Awards

Tuesday 6th November, 2018 11:38AM

Wellington got an advance taste of the glitz and the glamour of next week's Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards with last night's technically-focused 2018 Artisan Awards presentation held at Massey University School of Music and Creative Media Production. Five Tuis were doled out for the less publicly visible yet no less crucial categories of Best Album Cover, Best Engineer, Massey University Best Producer, Music Teacher of the Year, and NZ On Air Best Music Video which was swooped away by Lyttelton songwriting superstar Marlon Williams who self-directed his spooky clip for 'Vampire Again', and is performing early next year with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra. The inaugural Music Teacher Of The Year award was presented by Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, who is becoming a bit of a fixture at Aotearoa music award events. Check out the full list of winners and nominees below, and stay tuned for next Thursday's star-studded VNZMA ceremony at Auckland's Spark Arena, featuring performances by Williams, Savage, Janine and the Mixtape, Gin Wigmore, Devilskin, Broods and more...

Best Album Cover

Winners: Jaime Robertson & Matthias Heiderich - In Spaces EP (Sola Rosa)
Barny Bewick - Seven (Cairo Knife Fight)
Tami Neilson, Ashley Church, Xoe Hall, Jules Koblun - Sassafrass! (Tami Neilson)

Best Engineer

Winners: Jordan Stone & Simon Gooding - Out Of Silence (Neil Finn)
Chris Chetland - Rangatira (REI)
Simon Gooding, Tom Larkin, Scott Seabright, and Samuel Sproull - Tū (Alien Weaponry)

NZ On Air Best Music Video

Winner: Marlon Williams – ‘Vampire Again’ (Marlon Williams)
Chris Graham – ‘Black Crow’ (Louis Baker)
Shae Sterling – ‘Bloodlines’ (The Adults ft Estère & JessB)

Best Producer

Winners: Simon Gooding, Tom Larkin, Hammerhead - Tū (Alien Weaponry)
Estère - My Design, On Others' Lives (Estère)
Neil and Liam Finn - Out Of Silence (Neil Finn)

Music Teacher of the Year

Winner: Elizabeth Sneyd – Virtuoso Strings Charitable Trust, Porirua
Jane Egan – Gisborne Girls High School, Gisborne
Judith Bell – Chisnallwood Intermediate, Christchurch


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!