click here for more
Listen To Melbourne Trio Dyson Stringer Cloher's Single 'Falling Clouds'

Listen To Melbourne Trio Dyson Stringer Cloher's Single 'Falling Clouds'

A.K. / Thursday 25th July, 2019 10:30AM

Melbourne super trio Dyson Stringer Cloher has packed on the glitter and feathers in the clip for their first release in six years 'Falling Clouds'. Australian songwriters Jen Cloher, Mia Dyson and Liz Stringer are Jagger, Elton and Bowie respectively - a slow reveal as the three transform into drag kings before taking the stage at North Melbourne’s Thornbury Theatre. The song grew from a memory Cloher has of an all-ages show in the early 90s and seeing trailblazers The Clouds and Falling Joys, who had a hand in paving the way for women in the Australian music industry. Cloher is bringing her solo act to Aotearoa for a spot on The Others Way 2019 lineup as part of the Milk! Records stage, and immediately after she hits the road with label mate Tiny Ruins for an extensive New Zealand tour.

Jen Cloher explains the concept of the video: "Drag has always been a fun way to explore gender through performance. 'Falling Clouds' examines how the rules and privileges of gender have shaped the careers of women and non binary artists in Australia. Whilst it’s a serious subject, we decided to have some fun with it. Choosing to take on three of glam rocks most revered icons, we discovered that even masculinity is a performance. Ru Paul nailed it when he said, “We’re all born naked, the rest is drag." 


Undertheradar proudly presents...

Tiny Ruins 'Olympic Girls Spring Tour of Aotearoa' w/ Jen Cloher (solo)

Thursday 5th September - Haumoana Hall, Haumoana, Hawkes Bay
Friday 6th September - St. Peter’s Hall, Paekakariki
Saturday 7th September - Khandallah Town Hall, Wellington
Monday 9th September - Secret Show, Ahiaruhe
Wednesday 11th September - The Plant, Blenheim
Thursday 12th September - Blue Smoke, Christchurch
Friday 13th September - Sherwood, Queenstown
Saturday 14th September - Port Chalmers Town Hall, Port Chalmers
Thursday 19th September - Nivara Lounge, Hamilton
Friday 20th September - Mt. Eden Memorial Hall, Auckland
Saturday 21st September - The Jam Factory, Tauranga
Sunday 22nd September - The Dome, Gisborne

Tickets on sale now via Banished Music

Get on board with the triumphant rock ballad 'Falling Clouds'…


Links
facebook.com/dysonstringercloher/
dysonstringercloher.com

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  



Fri 30th Aug
Various K Road Venues , Auckland
Fri 6th Sep
St Peter's Hall, Paekakariki
Sat 7th Sep
Khandallah Town Hall, Wellington
Wed 11th Sep
The Plant, Blenheim
Thu 12th Sep
Cassels Blue Smoke, Christchurch
Fri 13th Sep
Sherwood, Queenstown
Sat 14th Sep
Port Chalmers Town Hall, Port Chalmers
Thu 19th Sep
Nivara Lounge, Hamilton
Fri 20th Sep
Mt Eden War Memorial Hall, Auckland
Sat 21st Sep
Jam Factory, Tauranga
Sun 22nd Sep
Dome Cinema, Gisborne







Content copyright 2019 UnderTheRadar.co.nz | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here