click here for more
Randa Wins Best Music Video At 2019 Artisan Awards

Randa Wins Best Music Video At 2019 Artisan Awards

C.C. / Tuesday 5th November, 2019 10:06AM

Tāmaki Makaurau rapper Randa beat out some stiff competition at last night's fourth annual Artisan Awards, with their bitingly satirical and surreal video for 'Rock Bottom', created by Vision Thing, taking away the prize for NZ On Air Best Music Video | Te Puoro Ataata Toa. Held at Massey University’s School of Music and Creative Media Production in Wellington in advance of 2019's Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, the Artisan Awards doled out six Tuis in total, recognising the less visible but no less crucial work of our music industry's top talents, including the Massey University Best Producer | Te Kaiwhakaputa Toa award which went to pop production wizard Josh Fountain. The artist-focussed VNZMAs is returning to Tāmaki Makaurau's Spark Arena on Thursday 14th November – read our chat with Randa about their award-winning video here and check out the rundown of last night's winners and nominees below...

Massey University Best Producer | Te Kaiwhakaputa Toa:

WINNER: Josh Fountain – (Various)
Simon Gooding, Ji Fraser, Eli Paewai - Mitch James (Mitch James)
Tom Healy - Olympic Girls (Tiny Ruins)

NZ On Air Best Music Video | Te Puoro Ataata Toa:

WINNERS: Vision Thing – ‘Rock Bottom’ (Randa)
Jason Brock – ‘Feeling Free’ (LEISURE)
Martin Sagadin and Aldous Harding – ‘The Barrel’ (Aldous Harding)

Best Album Artwork | Te Toi Ataata Pukaemi Toa:

WINNER: Jaime Robertson - A Quiet Divide (Rhian Sheehan)
Mike Braid - Raised in The Dark (Villainy)
Tim Harper & Dick Frizzell - Offering (Various Artists)

Best Engineer | Te Kaipukaha Toa:

WINNERS: Ben Lawson & Vivek Gabriel - Avantdale Bowling Club (Avantdale Bowling Club)
Josh Fountain – (Various)
Simon Gooding - Mitch James (Mitch James)

Music Teacher of the Year | Kaiārahi Puoro o te Tau

WINNER: Duncan Ferguson (St Andrews College, Christchurch)
Jane Egan (Gisborne Girls High School)
Sue Banham (Rosehill College, Auckland)

Recorded Music NZ Music Manager of the Year | Kaiwhakahaere Puoro o te Tau (presented by Music Managers Forum NZ)

WINNER: Lorraine Barry
Niel de Jong & Oliver Kraemer
Paul McKessar


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!