click here for more
Reb Fountain Reveals New Tour Dates + Single 'Don't You Know Who I Am'

Reb Fountain Reveals New Tour Dates + Single 'Don't You Know Who I Am'

C.C. / Photo credit: Frances Carter / Tuesday 28th April, 2020 9:37AM

It feels like we're heading back on the right track, as the sun rises on the first day following Aotearoa's Level 4 lockdown, and what better way to celebrate than with the latest single from Flying Nun songwriting sensation Reb Fountain? The Tāmaki Makaurau-based artist releases her self-titled album this coming Friday 1st May, the first day of NZ Music Month, whipping up anticipation even further with the smokey and intimate piano driven ballad 'Don't You Know Who I Am'. The song's quietness belies the power of its message, as Fountain sings her rallying cry of self-determination over stripped-back, blues-inflected instrumentation. Previously required to put immediate tour plans on hold due to the coronavirus pandemic, in happy news Fountain today has revealed a slew of fresh tour dates, taking her new record across the the length and breadth of the country in spring 2020.

Reb Fountain opened up about the origins of 'Don't You Know Who I Am', inspired by the artwork of First Nation artist Benjamin Chee Chee: "A friend of mine had given me two prints by Benjamin Chee Chee, an Ojibway, First Nation artist, found at an op shop I fell in love with his work and when I came across his piece ‘Three Flying Geese’. It totally resonated with me and I sought the license to use it as artwork for my earlier album Little Arrows. I also got it tattooed on my forearm. It was during this time, in conversation with Benjamin’s estate lawyer, that I heard Benjamin’s story.

A young artist on the cusp of ‘success’ he was also Native American and in the 70s, growing up ‘Indian’ in North America was particularly harsh. While you had AIM, UNA and Red Power fighting for indigenous rights and restitution you also had extreme racism and brutality towards first nation people. One night–true to the times-Benjamin got locked up for being ‘drunk and disorderly’; for being native. In the cell he was heard, a little tipsy and full of bravado, bragging that he was a famous artist. ‘Don’t you know who I am?’ a proud swagger amidst rampant injustice. The next day he was found hung in the cell; an apparent suicide ... his entire art studio was also found; completely empty ... all his works down to his paintbrushes were gone."


UPDATE 22/07/20: Reb Fountain has announced a second Auckland headline event at Mercury Theatre this November, as the first date has sold out...

UnderTheRadar proudly presents...

Reb Fountain 2020 New Zealand Tour

Friday 23rd October - Yot Club, Raglan
Saturday 24th October - Jam Factory, Tauranga
Sunday 25th October - The Dome, Gisborne
Friday 30th October - Opera House, Hastings
Saturday 31st October - Meow, Wellington
Sunday 1st November - Cannon Heath, Wairarapa
Friday 6th November - Cassels Blue Smoke, Christchurch
Saturday 7th November - Port Chalmers Town Hall, Dunedin
Sunday 8th November - Sherwood, Queenstown  
Saturday 14th November - Mercury Theatre, Auckland [sold out]
Sunday 15th November - Mercury Theatre, Auckland [new date]
Saturday 21st November - Leigh Sawmill, Leigh

Tickets available via Banished Music


Reb Fountain's self titled album is out digitally on Friday 1st May 1st via Flying Nun. Limited edition vinyl, standard vinyl and CD is set for release 26th June, pre-orders are now available from your local record store #supportyourlocal.

Links
rebfountain.co.nz/

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  



Fri 23rd Oct
The Yot Club, Raglan
Sat 24th Oct
Jam Factory, Tauranga
Sun 25th Oct
Dome Cinema, Gisborne
Fri 30th Oct
Hawkes Bay Opera House, Hastings
Sat 31st Oct
Meow, Wellington
Sun 1st Nov
Cannon Heath, Carterton
Fri 6th Nov
Cassels Blue Smoke, Christchurch
Sat 7th Nov
Port Chalmers Town Hall, Dunedin
Sun 8th Nov
Sherwood, Queenstown
Sat 14th Nov
Mercury Theatre, Auckland
Sat 21st Nov
Leigh Sawmill Cafe, Leigh







Content copyright 2020 UnderTheRadar.co.nz | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here