click here for more
Troy Kingi Awarded Taite Music Prize 2020

Troy Kingi Awarded Taite Music Prize 2020

C.C. / Photo credit: Abe Mora / Wednesday 6th May, 2020 9:42AM

Required to shift to the online realm this year due to Covid-19, last night's eleventh annual Taite Music Prize presentation maintained the glitz and the glamour we've come to expect from the prestigious event, in a necessarily more stripped back fashion than usual. Four awards were doled out at the streamed ceremony, which was originally scheduled to take place at Tāmaki Makaurau's Q Theatre in April. Troy Kingi took away the coveted main prize for his album with the Upperclass Holy Colony Burning Acres, Repulsive Woman aka Millie Lovelock won the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut award for her breakout album Relief, industry legend Murray Cammick (RipItUp, Southside Records) was deservedly recognised for his trailblazing work with the Independent Spirit Award, and Shona Laing was presented the Independent Music NZ Classic Record award for her synth-soaked 1987 album South (Pagan Records).

Presented by MC's Sarah Thomson (95bFM) and IMNZ Chairperson Mikee Tucker (Loop Recordings), the ceremony's guest speakers included Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern who announced the main prize winner, Russell Brown who paid tribute to Murray Cammick's hugely impactful contributions as a journalist, label boss, photographer and more, and 2019 Taite Music Prize winner Tom Scott (Avantdale Bowling Club), who provided humble and hilarious words of wisdom for the finalists.

Named in tribute to legendary New Zealand music journalist Dylan Taite, the Taite Music Prize has long been considered to be a critics' choice award that "recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one recording," bestowing the winner with a cash prize of NZ$12,500 (to be spent as they wish), recording time at Red Bull Studios Auckland and a year’s supply of Red Bull product.

Troy Kingi's record with the Upperclass was one of ten finalists for the award. The formidably talented lineup of artists in the running for 2020 included Aldous Harding, Beastwars, JessB, L.A.B., Lawrence Arabia, Louis Baker, Mermaidens, Miss June and Tiny Ruins.

Watch the entire event here...


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!