click here for more
'Reid & Ruins' Nationwide Tour Announced

'Reid & Ruins' Nationwide Tour Announced

Chris Cudby / Monday 20th July, 2020 12:00PM

Two of Aotearoa's most revered songwriters are embarking on an extensive national tour this coming spring. Longtime friends Nadia Reid and Hollie Fullbrook of Tiny Ruins are teaming up for a very special eleven date, double-headline tour that will take them all the way from Dunedin to Auckland, with each solo artist performing songs from their respective internationally acclaimed new albums Out of My Province and Olympic Girls, plus the enticing promise they'll be joining each other in song at these intimate and unique events. You really couldn't find a more sublime paring than Reid & Ruins, who between them have attracted such high profile devotees as Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and David Lynch – we recommend you grab tickets while you can as tickets are sure to fly out the door...


UPDATE 14/09/20: Due to Covid-19 restrictions, rescheduled dates have been announced for Reid & Ruins' September shows...


Undertheradar proudly presents...

‘Reid & Ruins’

Thursday 24th September - Paisley Stage, Napier*
Friday 25th September - St Peter's Hall, Paekakariki*
Saturday 26th September - The Opera House, Wellington△
Sunday 27th September - St Peter's Village Hall, Paekakariki [sold out]
Friday 2nd October - Yot Club, Raglan*
Saturday 3rd October - Artworks Theatre, Waiheke*
Friday 9th October - Te Tairāwhiti Festival, Gisborne☩ 
Saturday 10th October - The Tuning Fork, Auckland∞
Wednesday 25th November - Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru* [new date]
Thursday 26th November - The Piano, Christchurch* [new date]

Friday 27th November - The Piano, Christchurch [new date - sold out - all tickets from Great Hall shows valid for this show] 
Saturday 28th November - Sherwood, Queenstown* [new date]
Sunday 29th September - Hanover Hall, Dunedin* [new date]

Tickets on sale HERE via UTR*
Tickets available via tetairawhitiartsfestival.nz☩ 
Tickets on sale via moshtix.com
Tickets on sale via Ticketmaster

Experience the lush clip for Nadia Reid's 'Get The Devil Out'...


Watch the video for the title track to Tiny Ruins' latest album Olympic Girls...


Press release:

Fellow songwriters & long time friends Nadia Reid and Hollie Fullbrook (from the band Tiny Ruins) are hitting the road together in the Springtime for ‘REID & RUINS’ - an 11-date double headline tour across Aotearoa, where they will play songs from their respective albums - solo & together.

Both Nadia and Hollie’s songs start their lives as lyrics carried simply by their guitar melodies and voice. These solo concerts will preserve the power and vulnerability of the original incarnations & offer audiences an evening of great company and music in treasured venues nationwide.

‘Reid & Ruins’

Thu 17 September, Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru Fri 18 September, Sherwood, Queenstown Sat 19 September, Hanover Hall, Dunedin Sun 20 September, Great Hall, Christchurch Thu 24 September, Paisley Stage, Napier Sat 26 September, Meow, Wellington Sun 27 September, St Peter's Village Hall, Paekakariki Fri 2 October, Yot Club, Raglan Sat 3 October, Artworks Theatre, Waiheke Fri 9 October, Te Tairawhiti Arts Festival, Gisborne Sat 10 October, The Tuning Fork, Auckland *

Tickets on sale Wednesday 22 July at 9am.

All tickets via undertheradar.co.nz except for * from moshtix.com

Nadia Reid is praised the world over for her intimate, complex songwriting. She is described by The Guardian as ‘an understated, wise guide through uncertain territory’, while her lyrics are called ‘allegorical...brutally honest’ by The Revue. What brings Reid's lyrics to life is her unique voice and accompanying soundscapes that seem to at once evoke the rugged beaches and mountains of Aotearoa, the Port Chalmers harbour of her home, and the roaming, open territory of the road.

In March of this year, Reid released her third full-length album ‘Out of My Province’ via her own label Slow Time Records in New Zealand and Spacebomb for the rest of the world. Performing a handful of release shows just prior to the March lockdown meant there was a brief moment to celebrate the release. The Line of Best Fit declared it Reid’s “most polished album to date” with Uncut calling it "her best album yet”, awarding it 8/10. Due to COVID-19 disruptions, Reid and her band will head back into a Dunedin recording studio at Chicks Hotel in August to begin work on album 4. Reid is delighted to join long-time friend and fellow songwriter Hollie Fullbrook for a run of intimate and unique shows in a time where we are so lucky to be together.

A rare blend of eloquent lyrical craft and explorative musicianship, the songs of Tiny Ruins have been treasured by crowds and critics for over a decade. The band’s 2019 third album ‘Olympic Girls’ was a finalist for Best Alternative Album at the Tuis a finalist for the Taite Music Prize in 2020 and song ‘Olympic Girls’ a finalist for the Silver Scroll. “Part of the charm of Olympic Girls”, wrote God Is In The TV, “lies in the layers of mystery in each song. Inspired by literature, science, nature and human experience, these mysteries lie waiting to be carefully unfolded...”

An acoustic companion recording was released late last year. Featuring just Hollie Fullbrook’s arresting vocals and intricate guitar playing, the solo recordings reflect the sparse beauty of her earliest work. The album features some of Fullbrook’s most accomplished songwriting, recorded onto tape in whole live takes at Auckland’s Roundhead Studios. ‘Olympic Girls Solo’ was toured by Fullbrook across Europe, North America & Australia in late 2019. Her plans for a New Zealand tour were curtailed by Covid-19, so she is beyond thrilled to join forces with her friend Nadia Reid on this special run of shows.

Links
nadiareid.com/
tinyruins.com/

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  


You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. Any small amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR


Reid & Ruins
Fri 2nd Oct
The Yot Club, Raglan
Reid & Ruins
Sat 3rd Oct
Artworks Theatre, Waiheke
Reid & Ruins
Sat 10th Oct
The Tuning Fork, Auckland
Wed 25th Nov
Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru
Reid & Ruins
Buy
Fri 27th Nov
The Piano, Christchurch
Reid & Ruins
Buy
Sat 28th Nov
Sherwood, Queenstown
Reid & Ruins
Buy
Sun 29th Nov
The Regent, Dunedin