click here for more
Top 20 Shortlist Revealed For APRA Silver Scroll Award 2021

Top 20 Shortlist Revealed For APRA Silver Scroll Award 2021

Chris Cudby / Thursday 15th July, 2021 8:16AM

The top 20 shortlist has been unveiled for this year's edition of Aotearoa songwriting award the APRA Silver Scroll, along with the top five shortlist for the APRA Maioha Award — recognising the art of contemporary Māori songwriting and honouring composers who are telling their stories in the language of Te Ao Māori. While the Silver Scroll has been in national news recently for the unprecedented revoking of the award from 2016 winner Thomas Oliver, this year's judges have been poring over entries to put together a notably diverse and high quality shortlist with an optimistic vision for the future, whittled down from over 250 entries. Both awards will be presented at a glitzy ceremony at Spark Arena on Thursday 14th October, which will also feature presentations of SOUNZ Contemporary Award Te Tohu Auaha, APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award, APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award and 2021's NZ Music Hall of Fame Induction.

This year's Silver Scroll judging panel were fellow songwriters Anji Sami (She’s So Rad), Finn Andrews (The Veils), Hollie Fullbrook (Tiny Ruins), Marika Hodgson (Sorrento, Troy Kingi, Kora, Teeks), Natalia Sheppard (MC Tali), Phil Bell (DJ Sir-Vere), Sarena Close (Mousey), Sean Donnelly (SJD), Tom Scott (Avantdale Bowling Club), and Tyna Keelan, and Maioha Award judges were Matai Smith, Nadia Marsh, Ngatapa Black, and Pere Wihongi. They've done their bit, now the power to recognise our extraordinary songwriting talents is in the hands of APRA members, who are invited to vote wisely "for their top five Silver Scroll songs from the list of 20, and their top three Maioha Award waiata from the list of five."

2021 APRA Silver Scroll Award Top 20 Shortlist:

All Your Ships Have Sailed, written and performed by Troy Kingi (Published by Loop Publishing | Kobalt Music Publishing Australia)

Anna (On My Life), written and performed by Adam Tukiri and Rizván Tu'itahi

BATHSALTS, written by Clark Mathews, Daniel Vernon, Christan Pianta, Hakopa Kuka-Larsen, performed by DARTZ

Brains, written by Madeline Bradley, performed by deryk

Broken Chains, written by Tyree Tautogia*, Sidney Diamond*, Fred Fa'afou*, Ché Ness, Willie Tafa, Solo Tohi, Wasim A. Hussain, Darryl Thompson, Angus McNaughton, performed by Smashproof (*Published by Woodcut Productions)

Don't Run, written by Sid Diamond* and Nathan King, performed by Sid Diamond (*Published by Woodcut Productions)

Dragon Fruit (Feat. Louis Baker), written by Tony Sihamau, Lance Fepuleai, Harry Huavi, Louis Baker, performed by Team Dynamite featuring Louis Baker

Guilty Love, written by Phillipa Brown*, Georgia Nott**, Tommy English***, performed by Ladyhawke and Broods (*Published by BMG Rights Management Australia, ** Third Side Music Inc |Gaga Music and ***Powerteam Tom Songs / These Are Pulse Songs (BMI). Administered worldwide by Concord Music Publishing | Native Tongue Music Publishing)

Hey Mom, written and performed by Reb Fountain (Published by Native Tongue Music Publishing)

Hiwa-i-te-rangi, written by Maisey Rika, Callum Rei McDougall, Chris Chetland, performed by Maisey Rika

Jump Rope Gazers, written by Elizabeth Stokes*, Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair, Tristan Deck, performed by The Beths (*Published by Gaga Music obo Carpark Publishing)

Laps Around The Sun, written by Mark Perkins, performed by Merk (Published by Native Tongue Music Publishing)

Leave Love Out Of This, written by Anthonie Tonnon and Jonathan Pearce, performed by Anthonie Tonnon

Lightswitch, written by Mona Sanei, Frank Eliesa, performed by CHAII (Published by BMG Rights Management Australia obo Big Pop Music Publishing)

No Flowers, written by Dallas Tamaira and Devin Abrams*, performed by Dallas Tamaira (*Published by Universal Music Publishing)

Periphescence, written by Daniel McBride, performed by Sheep, Dog & Wolf

Stand In, written by Deva Mahal and Aaron Livingston, performed by Deva Mahal

Tangaroa, written by Henry de Jong, Lewis de Jong, Ethan Trembath, Niel de Jong, performed by Alien Weaponry

Turangawaewae, written by Stephen Harmer, Maisey Rika, Troy Kingi, Tenei Kesha (10A), performed by Tipene, Troy Kingi, and Maisey Rika.

Your Deodorant Doesn't Work, written by Stephanie Brown, James Fenimore Ikner, performed by Lips

2021 APRA Maioha Award Top 5 shortlist:

He Aio, written by Hamiora Tuari, Matthew Sadgrove, Sam Eriwata, and Tei Nohotima, performed by Haami

Karawhiua, written by Logan Bell, Matthew Sadgrove, Stephen Maxwell, translated by Paraone Gloyne, performed by Katchafire (Published by Loop Publishing | Kobalt Music Publishing Australia)

Te Pū, written by Tame-Hoake Tuari, Tatana Tuari, Hamiora Tuari, and Sam Eriwata, performed by Tuari Brothers

Toroa, written by Mara Te Kahika and Cory Champion, performed by Mara TK

Waitī Waitā, written by Maisey Rika and Seth Haapu, performed by Maisey Rika

Watch Delaney Davidson and the All Girl Big band's rendition of pop megastar Benee's 2020 Silver Scroll winning song 'Glitter'...


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!