click here for more
2021 APRA Maioha Award Finalists Announced

2021 APRA Maioha Award Finalists Announced

Annabel Kean / Image: Haami, Mara TK, Maisey Rika / Thursday 19th August, 2021 12:44PM

It's a pleasure to share news of this year's APRA Maioha Award finalists, one of the few things Covid can't spoil with its recent unwelcome return. Lockdown or not, here's to recognising three top tier examples of contemporary Te Ao Māori storytelling and songwriting excellence. The winner will be announced at the 2021 APRA Silver Scroll Award ceremony later this year on 14th October, whether that be IRL or URL, along with presentations of the SOUNZ Contemporary Award Te Tohu Auaha, APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award, APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award and 2021's NZ Music Hall of Fame Induction. The Maioha Award finalists include Official New Zealand Music Chart regular Haami, Electric Wire Hustle's Mara TK, and multi award winning Māori music legend Maisey Rika. Get friendly and familiar with the 2021 Maioha Award top crop...

• 'He Aio' by Hamiora Tuari, Matthew Sadgrove, Sam Eriwata, and Tei Nohotima - Performed by Haami

• 'Toroa' by Mara Te Kahika and Cory Champion - Performed by Mara TK

• 'Waitī Waitā' by Maisey Rika and Seth Haapu - Performed by Maisey Rika


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!