click here for more
Lake South Shares Single / Video 'Townbelt'

Lake South Shares Single / Video 'Townbelt'

Annabel Kean / Friday 27th August, 2021 8:43AM

I'm not sure if it's kosher to go digging for treasure in level 4, but after watching Lake South's video for new single 'Townbelt' you'll be double-checking the lockdown dos and don'ts. As the name suggests, the synth-packed track finds its visual treatment taking place amongst the winding paths of Wellington's lush town belt, intercut with mysterious culty scenes on a rocky, windswept beach. Lake South hits a balance between driving, power-pop and something raw and personal in 'Townbelt', pairing compressed snare and red hot bass with lyrics a bit close to home, like "The silence at the dining room table, it’s heavy" and "I’ll be honest, it’s just like before but empty" — ah, that's some relatable pandemic monotony.

'Townbelt' follows 'New Bourgeoizealand (lucky)' as the second release from Lake South's upcoming third album The Light You Throw, due out this September ahead of a stonker spring tour. Find your closest Lake South party locale and lock in your spot...

Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour

Friday 1st October - The Jam Factory, Tauranga w/ Jžoe (all ages)
Saturday 2nd October - Wine Cellar, Auckland w/ Welcomer*
Wednesday 6th October - Le Café, Picton
Thursday 7th October - Fairfield House, Nelson*
Friday 8th October - Space Academy, Christchurch w/ Welcomer, Model Home*
Saturday 9th October - Bark!, Dunedin w/ Welcomer, Laney Blue*
Friday 15th October - Ma Maison, Akaroa
Saturday 30th October - City Of Wellington Pipe Band Hall, Wellington w/ Welcomer, Hybrid Rose*
Friday 12th November - The Stomach, Palmerston North w/ Welcomer*
Saturday 13th November - Porridge Watson, Whanganui w/ Welcomer
Friday 19th November - Smash Palace, Gisborne*
Saturday 20th November - Space Ship, Hastings w/ Sam Saffery*

Tickets available HERE via UTR*



Lake South's third album 'The Light You Throw' is out September 17th via Home Alone Music.

Links
lake-south.com/

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  


You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!

Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Sat 2nd Oct 8:00pm
The Wine Cellar, Auckland
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Wed 6th Oct 7:00pm
Le Cafe, Picton
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Thu 7th Oct 7:30pm
Fairfield House, Nelson
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Fri 8th Oct 8:00pm
Space Academy, Christchurch
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Sat 9th Oct 7:30pm
Bark @ Dog With Two Tails, Dunedin
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Sat 30th Oct 7:30pm
City of Wellington Pipe Band Hall, Wellington
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Fri 12th Nov 8:00pm
The Stomach, Palmerston North
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Sat 13th Nov 8:00pm
Porridge Watson, Whanganui
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Fri 19th Nov 8:00pm
Smash Palace, Gisborne
Lake South 'The Light You Throw' Album Release Tour
Sat 20th Nov 8:00pm
Spaceship, Hastings