click here for more
click here for more
2023 APRA Maioha Award - Top 3 Finalists Announced

2023 APRA Maioha Award - Top 3 Finalists Announced

Chris Cudby / Image: Tuari Brothers / MOHI / Jordyn with a Why / Friday 11th August, 2023 12:03PM

Honouring "songwriters who are telling their stories in the language of te ao Māori", the top three finalists have been announced for the 2023 APRA Maioha Award, along with shortlists for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award, APRA Best Original Music in a Film Award, and the APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award. The aforementioned accolades will be presented along with the prestigious APRA Silver Scroll Award at a no doubt ritzy ceremony on Wednesday 4th October at Tāmaki Makaurau's Spark Arena. Here's the finalists revealed today, plus the 20 song Silver Scroll shortlist below...

APRA Maioha Award

‘E Tama’ written by Hamiora Tuari, Ani Piki Tuari, Tame Tuari, Tatana Tuari, Matt Sadgrove, performed by Tuari Brothers
‘Me Pēhea Rā’ written by Mohi Allen, Hēmi Kelly, Amy Boroevich, Noema Te Hau III, performed by MOHI
‘Raumati’ written by Jordyn Rapana translated by Te Kuru Dewes, performed by Jordyn with a Why

SOUNZ Contemporary Award | Te Tohu Auaha

Mycelium by Nathaniel Otley, for Bass Flute, Trumpet, Percussion, Electric Guitar, Keyboard, Violin, Cello, and Contrabass
No ro hunu ake by Joshua Pearson, for choral ensemble
Requiem by Victoria Kelly based on poetry by Bill Manhire, Sam Hunt, Ian Wedde, Chloe Honum & James K Baxter - for Soprano, Tenor, Choir and Orchestra

APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award | Tohu Pūmanawa

Mark Vanilau for A Boy Called Piano - The Story of Fa'amoana John Luafutu
Cam Ballantyne for Nude Tuesday
Karl Sölve Steven for The Subtle Art of Not Giving a #@%!

APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award | Tohu Paerangi

Tom McLeod for Blood, Sex, & Royalty
Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper for The Gone
Claire Cowan for Under The Vines

APRA Silver Scroll Award Kaitito Kaiaka Top 20:

• Aroā written by Emily Rice*, Charles Looker*, Te Kuru Dewes performed by Aro (*Songbroker Limited)
• Can’t Fake It written by Jessica Bourke*, Maarten Bokma**, Max Oude Weernink^, Bart Possemis~ performed by JessB (*Concord Music Publishing, **Warner Chappell Music Australia Pty Ltd, ^Origin Music Publishing Pty Ltd, ~Sony Music Publishing (Australia) P/L)
• Desert Dove written and performed by Holly Arrowsmith
• Don't Go Back written by Marlon Williams*, Mark Perkins* performed by Marlon Williams (*Concord Music Publishing)
• Expert In A Dying Field written by Elizabeth Stokes*, Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair, Tristan Deck performed by The Beths (*Carpark Music Publishing via Gaga Music PTY LTD)
• foolish thinking written by Kimbra Johnson*, Ryan Lott performed by Kimbra ft. Ryan Lott (*Warner Chappell Music Australia PTY LTD)
• Friday Night @ The Liquor Store written by Tom Scott, Christopher James performed by Avantdale Bowling Club
 • Green Honda written by Stella Bennett*, Luka Kloser**, Elvira Anderfjard** performed by BENEE (*Sony Music Publishing, **Kobalt Music Publishing Australia)
• i just can’t wait written by Sean James Donnelly performed by SJD (Concord Music Publishing)
• Kingmaker written and performed by Tami Neilson
• Layla written by Ruban Nielson, Kody Nielson performed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Mushroom Music PTY LTD)
• Live Wires written by Shannon Fowler performed by Tom Lark (Concord Music Publishing)
• My Baby’s Like A Hurricane written by Whaanga arahi Main-Baillie performed by Arahi
 • Smooth It Over written by Ash Wallace, Gabriel Everett, Sophie Mashlan, Anton Rundberg*, Julia Karlsson* performed by Foley (*The Very Good Music Publishing obo Sony Music Publishing Scandinavia AB)
• Something written by Oscar Mein, Henry Francis, Conor Feehly, Max Holmes, Tom Healy performed by Soaked Oats
• Take My Hands At Night written and performed by Ebony Lamb
• Te Atarau written by Mohi Allen, Daniel Martin, Rukuwai Allen performed by Mohi
 • The Crab / Waterbaby written by Hollie Fullbrook performed by Tiny Ruins (Kobalt Music Publishing)
• Travel With Me written by Deva Mahal, Marika Hodgson performed by Deva Mahal
 • You Are written by Naomi Ludlow performed by Ny Oh


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!