click here for more
click here for more
Taite Music Prize 2024 Finalists Announced

Taite Music Prize 2024 Finalists Announced

Chris Cudby / Tuesday 5th March, 2024 8:59AM

Named after legendary Aotearoa music journalist Dylan Taite (who passed away in 2003), the Taite Music Prize has long been regarded as one of NZ's most prestigious music awards. Determined by a "voting academy of all current members of Independent Music New Zealand (IMNZ), musicians, and music industry personnel", the shortlist of finalist albums for the fifteenth Taite Music Prize has been announced today. The coveted accolade will be presented on Tuesday 23rd April alongside the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award, NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award, IMNZ Classic Record and the Independent Spirit Award.

Great to see our thriving metal / punk community recognised in 2024, with Shepherds Reign and Dick Move represented amongst the top tier list of finalists. Noticeably, local electronic producers look to have been given short shrift by IMNZ voters this time around (Home Brew could be considered an exception here), a curious development considering last year's recognition of techno / electronica pioneer Denver McCarthy aka micronism — recipient of the The Independent Music NZ Classic Record award. Open "to all genres of music and judged on artistic merit regardless of genre, sales, or record label," scope out the shortlist of finalists below. To be decided by an independent panel of judges,"the prize winner will receive a cash prize of $12,500, thanks to founding partner Recorded Music NZ." Look forward to more revelations in the coming weeks and open your ears to the Taite Music Prize 2024 playlist...

“IMNZ is proud to support this year's finalists. Supporting independent music is vital for a music industry that is creative and diverse. These finalists are representative of the best in our landscape this past year, and we champion them!"
— Pippa Ryan-Kidd, IMNZ Chairperson

"Recorded Music NZ are proud supporters of the Taite Music Prize, and we are delighted to once again honour the critical success of artists at the top of their game in partnership with Independent Music NZ." — Jo Oliver, Recorded Music NZ CEO

The 2024 Taite Music Prize finalists are:

Dick Move - Wet (1:12 Records)
Ebony Lamb - Ebony Lamb (Slow Time Records)
Erny Belle - Not Your Cupid (Flying Nun Records)
Home Brew - Run It Back (Years Gone By)
Mermaidens - Mermaidens (Independent)
Shepherds Reign - Ala Mai (Golden Robot Records)
Tiny Ruins - Ceremony (Ursa Minor)
Tom Lark - Brave Star (Winegum Records)
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - V (Jagjaguwar Records)
Vera Ellen - Ideal Home Noise (Flying Nun Records)


Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Help Support Independent Music News
You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $5, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. ♥
Support UTR!