click here for more
APRA Announce Silver Scroll Shortlist

APRA Announce Silver Scroll Shortlist

Thursday 1st July, 2010 12:16PM

APRA have gone ahead and announced the shortlist for the 2010 Silver Scroll Award. There are 20 songs, with a few bands appearing in the list twice. Overall it's a pretty good snapshot of New Zealand's current songwriting talent. No doubt everyone will have their own favourite, but we'll have to wait until September to see which song the APRA judges will pick as this year's winner of the Silver Scroll.

Here is the complete list:

Julia Deans - 'A New Dialogue'
The Naked & Famous - 'All of This' and 'Young Blood'
Minuit - 'Aotearoa'
Artisan Guns - 'Autumn'
The Jordan Luck Band - 'Barbie Dolls for Baghdad'
The Phoenix Foundation - 'Buffalo' and 'Flock of Hearts'
Midnight Youth - 'Cavalry'
Dimmer - 'Comfortable' and 'Dark Night of Yourself'
Anna Coddington - 'Garden'
Kirsten Morrell - 'Ghosts'
Don McGlashan and the Seven Sisters - 'Girl, Make Your Own Mind Up' and 'Marvellous Year'
The Clean - 'In The Dreamlife U Need a Rubber Soul'
Anika Moa - 'Running Through The Fire (Storm)'
The Mint Chicks - 'Say Goodbye'
Opensouls - 'Walk Away'
J. Williams ft. Scribe - 'You Got Me'


APRA Silver Scroll Awards: Announcing the Top 20 New Zealand Songs Of The Year

Now in its 45th year the APRA Silver Scroll Award is New Zealand’s pre‐eminent songwriting award; and as an event, it is a highlight on the nation’s music industry calendar, an evening of unique collaborations and performances.

This invite only event will be held on Wednesday 8 September at the Auckland Town Hall. APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association) are proud to announce the top 20 songs in line for New Zealand’s most prestigious songwriting award.

An anonymous jury of APRA Members have convened the preliminary list above; it is now down to the 7,500+ New Zealand APRA Members – the nation’s songwriters and composers – to elect their 2010 songwriting champion. Peer voting for the winner of the APRA Silver Scroll is all about songwriters recognising the outstanding achievements of their cohorts and honouring the craft of songwriting.

“Each song is a gem and all are worthy of our celebration. It’s a diverse and creative list reflecting an outstanding musical year.” Says Anthony Healey, Director of New Zealand Operations for APRA.


From Friday 2nd July, you can listen to the Top 20 and read each songs lyrics at – voting will be open for APRA Members via this website.

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards recognise and celebrate the creative excellence of our songwriters & composers. Alongside the APRA Silver Scroll Award, presentations include the APRA Maioha Award and the SOUNZ Contemporary Award recognising outstanding compositions in both Maori and Classical music; nods to the Most Performed Works here and overseas; and another surprise induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame.

To learn more about the Silver Scroll Awards, including past winners and performances, please visit www.apra‐

Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

Content copyright 2019 | some rights reserved | report any web problems to here