click here for more
Finalists for the Silver Scroll Awards 2007

Finalists for the Silver Scroll Awards 2007

Tuesday 21st August, 2007 12:00PM
Finalists for the Silver Scroll Awards 2007 APRA is proud to announce the 5 finalists for New Zealand’s most prestigious songwriter award.

Sean Donnelly (SJD) Beautiful Haze
Ruban Nielson (The Mint Chicks) Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!
Jason Kerrison, Bobby Kennedy, Matt Treacy & Clinton Harris (Opshop) Maybe
Brooke Fraser Albertine
Liam Finn Second Chance

The award has been presented since 1965, historically; a panel of anonymous writers and industry experts has judged the Silver Scroll. This year, a significant change occurred in determining the winner. A panel of judges nominated by APRA convened the preliminary finalist list, and then the remaining process was handed over to APRA members who were able to log on, listen, read the lyrics and vote.

Anthony Healey, APRA’s Director of NZ Operations - “The feedback from our APRA members and wider music community has been overwhelmingly positive in response to this new way of judging. The results are in and we’re thrilled. We’ve got five spectacular songs that represent the true artistic diversity and wealth of talent that exists within our local song-writing community.”

The finalists’ works will be performed at the New Zealand music industry’s favourite night out, the APRA Silver Scroll Awards on Tuesday September 18 at the Auckland Town Hall. The winner of the Silver Scroll 2007 (as decided by APRA’s members) will be announced along with the following awards:

SOUNZ Contemporary Award - recognising creative excellence by a NZ classical composer.
The finalists are:
Christopher Blake Anthem on the Kaipara
Eve de Castro-Robinson These Arms to Hold You
Ross Harris The Sleep Of Reason

The APRA Maioha Award – presented for the best Te Reo Maori song of the year.
The finalists are:
Andrea Tunks & Pierre Tohe Aio
Mika (with The Plastic Maori Band) Poti
Marian Mare Tenei Tamaiti

Healey points out “Many voices have spoken and the people selected to contend for this special award were chosen not by anonymous strangers, but by fellow song-writers.”
Share this
Subscribe/Follow Us
Don’t miss a thing! Follow us on your favourite platform  

You can show your support to keep UnderTheRadar running by making a contribution. From $1, any amount can make a huge difference and keep us bringing you the best, comprehensive local content. Support UTR!